Aliens on Vacation (The Intergalactic Bed and Breakfast)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.161304

Scrub isn’t happy about having to spend the summer with his hippie grandmother in “Middle of Nowehere,” Washington. When he arrives at her Intergalactic Bed & Breakfast, he’s not surprised by its 1960s-meets-Star Wars decor; but he is surprised by the weird looking guests. It turns out that each room in the inn is a portal and his grandma is the gatekeeper, allowing aliens to vacation on Earth. She desperately needs Scrub’s help with disguising the tourists as humans. As if that weren’t difficult enough, the town sheriff is already suspicious of Granny. One wrong move and Scrub could blow Grandma’s cover, forcing the B&B to shut down forever. And when it comes to aliens, every move seems wrong . . .
Full of cosmic chaos and mind-bending mayhem, Scrub’s summer adventure will leave readers wanting to make a return trip.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423133633
ISBN-13: 9781423133636
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccskid
    ccskidWednesday, November 20, 2013 at 9:57 am55 stars
    Excellent book, This is probably one of my favorite books of all time. This book is somewhat original, I have never read a book like it. I suggest you read it.
    • penguin313
      penguin313Saturday, October 12, 2013 at 3:38 pm55 stars
      A great story I won as a free prize. Can't wait to read the sequel! A good fiction book for anyone.
      • bookworm890
        bookworm890Friday, September 13, 2013 at 9:26 pm55 stars
        This sci-fi novel was kind of out there for me (go fantasy) the characters were original, but the plot where a child goes to live with their odd grandmother is not very original.
        • edmodo-hcuxcas3ql
          edmodo-hcuxcas3qlTuesday, August 6, 2013 at 10:49 am
          Scrub has to live at his grandma's house since his mom had a last minute business trip and his dad had to help his partner in the law firm.So he gets to his grandmothers and finds out that she is a hotel owner of an intergalactic hotel. The problem is that a police officer is beginning to get suspicious.
          • ilgrocks
            ilgrocksMonday, July 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm55 stars
            crub isn’t happy about having to spend the summer with his hippie grandmother in “Middle of Nowehere,” Washington. When he arrives at her Intergalactic Bed & Breakfast, he’s not surprised by its 1960s-meets-Star Wars decor; but he is surprised by the weird looking guests. It turns out that each room in the inn is a portal and his grandma is the gatekeeper, allowing aliens to vacation on Earth.
            • lolo326
              lolo326Saturday, July 20, 2013 at 8:01 am44 stars
              This is a really great book so far. I haven't finished it yet, but it seems like a fantastic book. So far, it's about a kid named David, and his nickname is Scrub. He is visiting his eccentric hippie grandmother from his hometown in Tampa, Florida to Washington, D.C. at her (Intergalactic) Bed and Breakfast. At first, Scrub thinks that he is going crazy when he sees her (odd) guests. But then, Scrub finds out just how crazy her guests really are! This is a heartwarming book about a boy who struggles with making new friends, fitting in, and staying out of trouble in this new town.
              • edmodo-tumjedsyf3
                L HSunday, June 30, 2013 at 1:33 pm55 stars
                I enjoyed reading this book because it shows how strangers have to adapt to a new situation. I wish the bed and breakfast was closer to my school so that we could take a field trip!
                • jillbill
                  jillbillSaturday, June 22, 2013 at 12:34 pm44 stars
                  The book "Aliens on Vacation" is about a boy named David, but he goes by Scrub. He is sent to go spend his summer vacation with his grandma (who is a hippie0 in Forest Grove in Washington state. She owns a bed and breakfast called "The Intergalactic Bed & breakfast". Through out his summer break , Scrub learns that Grandma's guests aren't exactly human. He has some good times and some not so good times with these "guests". If you are looking for an entertaining book to read I suggest this one. I would give this book a 9 out of 10.
                  • super
                    superWednesday, June 5, 2013 at 12:28 pm44 stars
                    This is a book about a kid named David who moves to his Grandmother's Intergalactic Bed and Breakfast. Then he finds out that the guests are aliens.
                    • disha
                      dishaThursday, May 30, 2013 at 1:41 pm55 stars
                      this book is about people who love science and aliens ,so much that when you want to read this book you love science if you did not read this book read it now