Al Capone Shines My Shoes (Tales from Alcatraz)

Book 2 of 3 in the Al Capone Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 2 - 8Y3.8n/a
Moose and the cons are about to get a lot closer in this much-anticipated sequel.

It?s 1935. Moose Flanagan lives on Alcatraz with his family, the other families of the guards, and a few hundred no-name hit men, con men, mad dog murderers and a handful of bank robbers too. And one of those cons has just done him a big favor.

You see, Moose has never met Al Capone, but a few weeks ago Moose wrote a letter to him asking him to use his influence to get his sister, Natalie, into a school she desperately needs in San Francisco. After Natalie got accepted, a note appeared in Moose?s freshly laundered shirt that said: Done.

As this book begins, Moose discovers a new note. This one says: Your turn. Is it really from Capone? What does it mean? Moose can?t risk anything that might get his dad fired. But how can he ignore Al Capone?

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 8, 2009 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803734603
ISBN-13: 9780803734609
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wubydidaxygyfo
    wubydidaxygyfoWednesday, January 3, 2018 at 7:46 am55 stars
    This is a amazing book so far by Gennifer Choldenko . This is the first book I've ever read by her. This one one of my favorite Alcatraz books.
    • grapefruit
      grapefruitSaturday, September 2, 2017 at 9:44 pm33 stars
      The plot was interesting and the writing was fabulous, but if history isn't your thing it may feel a bit confusing in the middle of the story .The characters have colorful personalities, minus Moose's weird sister Natalie(who speaks like a 4-year-old) and/or the strict and overprotective Officer Trixle. Fans of History/humorous fiction, please read this book!
      • emilyt813
        emilyt813Monday, January 26, 2015 at 12:55 pm
        So far this has come to be an very interesting book! I just can not wait to find out what happens in the end!!!!!
        • jaiden1207
          jaiden1207Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 1:07 pm44 stars
          I'm reading the first one so I think I would like this one too. My friend is reading this book she likes this one a lot. I think this author does a great job.
          • tree300
            tree300Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 12:53 pm55 stars
            I read this because I am interested in history and stuff. The name got me interested. It is cool, I like the names and the storyline. I give this a 5 star rating
            • lionsrcute1
              lionsrcute1Thursday, February 20, 2014 at 4:55 pm55 stars
              I just finished this book, and I LOVE IT! In this book, It is about Moose Flanagan again. His father works as an guard in Alcatraz, so their whole family had to move. Natalie, Moose's sister had Autism (it was 1935, they did not know what it was yet) so she went to an special school, that Al Capone (an gangster) helped her get into. When Al Capone asks for a favor from Moose, he doesn't know what to do. Slowly, the island seems to become more unsafe and unsafe. When Natalie, Piper, and Moose are captured, they find out that the kidnappers are escaped prisoners. Still, they have to break free from them somehow, but how, if they have guns?
              • student2468
                student2468Wednesday, January 8, 2014 at 4:53 pm55 stars
                I finish it ,but it is really good