Al Capone Shines My Shoes (Tales from Alcatraz)

Book 2 of 3 in the Al Capone Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 2 - 8Y3.8n/a
Moose and the cons are about to get a lot closer in this much-anticipated sequel.

It?s 1935. Moose Flanagan lives on Alcatraz with his family, the other families of the guards, and a few hundred no-name hit men, con men, mad dog murderers and a handful of bank robbers too. And one of those cons has just done him a big favor.

You see, Moose has never met Al Capone, but a few weeks ago Moose wrote a letter to him asking him to use his influence to get his sister, Natalie, into a school she desperately needs in San Francisco. After Natalie got accepted, a note appeared in Moose?s freshly laundered shirt that said: Done.

As this book begins, Moose discovers a new note. This one says: Your turn. Is it really from Capone? What does it mean? Moose can?t risk anything that might get his dad fired. But how can he ignore Al Capone?

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 8, 2009 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803734603
ISBN-13: 9780803734609
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • HiTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 9:50 am
    Good book
    • cannonezra
      cannonezraThursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:08 am44 stars
      Al Capone Shines My Shoes was a really good book, it took a minute to kick off but I thought it was still interesting, Moose was quite relatable for kids around the age of twelve and Natalie was a good character to have and I really did dislike Piper at the beginning witch was intentional. Al Capone was a gangster during 1925 and killed people but there was never enough evidence so when he was arrested for tax invasion. Overall it was a great book.
      • gikonaga-158023958530
        gikonaga-158023958530Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:06 am33 stars
        When I started the book I noticed lots of sentences that were missing words that were needed in order to make sense. Once I got a bit farther the book became more and more exciting and the book started to actually make sense. in the end, it was taking me having to read some sentences multiple times to understand them but really overall the book was actually pretty good.
        • epicgamerfood63
          epicgamerfood63Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:01 am55 stars
          When I finished the book it was amazing, the storyline was a bit confusing to me at the start but when I got further into the book I started to understand a bit more. During the rising action, the book caught my interest. My personal favorite character was either Natalie or Moose because most of the story he was the narrator for like a lot of the paragraph. All of the characters have a weird personality but in a good way, to the point where they can get along. Overall, in my opinion, you should read this book
          • mysivudi-158023958487
            mysivudi-158023958487Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 5:53 am55 stars
            I really liked this book, from the beginning I was hooked I couldn't put it down, through the book I just loved it, the characters were amazing the author just did amazing, I just loved it
            • wubydidaxygyfo
              wubydidaxygyfoWednesday, January 3, 2018 at 7:46 am55 stars
              This is a amazing book so far by Gennifer Choldenko . This is the first book I've ever read by her. This one one of my favorite Alcatraz books.
              • grapefruit
                grapefruitSaturday, September 2, 2017 at 9:44 pm33 stars
                The plot was interesting and the writing was fabulous, but if history isn't your thing it may feel a bit confusing in the middle of the story .The characters have colorful personalities, minus Moose's weird sister Natalie(who speaks like a 4-year-old) and/or the strict and overprotective Officer Trixle. Fans of History/humorous fiction, please read this book!
                • emilyt813
                  emilyt813Monday, January 26, 2015 at 12:55 pm
                  So far this has come to be an very interesting book! I just can not wait to find out what happens in the end!!!!!
                  • jaiden1207
                    jaiden1207Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 1:07 pm44 stars
                    I'm reading the first one so I think I would like this one too. My friend is reading this book she likes this one a lot. I think this author does a great job.
                    • tree300
                      tree300Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 12:53 pm55 stars
                      I read this because I am interested in history and stuff. The name got me interested. It is cool, I like the names and the storyline. I give this a 5 star rating