Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz)

Book 1 of 3 in the Al Capone Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8X3.549509

Moose Flannagan moves with his family to Alcatraz so his dad can work as a prison guard and his sister, Natalie, can attend a special school. But Natalie has autism, and when she's denied admittance to the school, the stark setting of Alcatraz begins to unravel the tenuous coping mechanisms Moose's family has used for dealing with her disorder.

When Moose meets Piper, the cute daughter of the Warden, he knows right off she's trouble. But she's also strangely irresistible. All Moose wants to do is protect Natalie, live up to his parents' expectations, and stay out of trouble. But on Alcatraz, trouble is never very far away.

Set in 1935, when guards actually lived on Alcatraz Island with their families. Choldenko's second novel brings humor to the complexities of family dynamics and illuminates the real struggle of a kid trying to free himself from the "good boy" stance he's taken his whole life.

Unknown Binding
Published on March 31, 2004 by Putnam Publishing Group
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • maddie1324Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 4:57 pm
    this book is AMAZING and its very funny
    • GiannaMonday, February 11, 2019 at 5:07 pm
      I LOVE this book I recomend it !!!
      • katiepeace84
        katiepeace84Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 9:27 am
        i like this book because i want to learn about Alcatraz because i want to visit there someday. this book is a good book i really recommend it for people that like to read fiction.
        • unicornzrule11
          unicornzrule11Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 8:24 am44 starsFeatured
          I thought this book was good, once you read some you cant put it down.This book has a LOT of cliffhangers ALL throughout the book.But sometimes you know what is going to happen but sometimes you don't.I think this book is for a person who likes books that leave you on the edge of your seat.Because that is Absolutely this book.Though this book would probably not be for 2nd and down. Other then that this is a perfect read for people who like a mystery every once and a while.This book is also in a series so if you liked this book if i were you i would really want to read the next one.Hopefully now you want to read this series of AMAZING books.
          • saminator205
            saminator205Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 8:20 am33 stars
            I think the book is ok. I think they should have added a tornado in it. It would have been so much better if they did. But i'm not the writer so I can't add it.
            • akerda
              akerdaThursday, March 30, 2017 at 8:18 am44 stars
              This book is amazing i will really recommend this to 4th and 5th grade.
              • kidfury205
                kidfury205Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
                An amazing book of mysteries. It has amazing characters you want to learn more about. When you read you never feel like you've read it enough. I would recommend this book to anyone. It's a emotional story with suspense and perfection.
                • FluffyTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 3:10 pm
                  Al Capone does my Shirts is the best book in the entire world of humanity
                  • chameleon12
                    chameleon12Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 8:21 am22 stars
                    I think it was ok. I would recommend it to my friends. And for 4 grade to 6. Also it teaches kids life on alcatraz. It was awesome.
                    • willpower44
                      willpower44Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 8:18 am44 stars
                      I thought this book was good, once you read the first chapter it makes you want to read even more. The entire time you are the edge of you seat wondering if his sister will make it into a special school. But some parts as you were reading the book you sort of could figure out what was going to happen. but other than that the book was great. I would recommend this for anyone who wants a on the edge of your seat book this book does that perfectly in its own way.