Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.245586
Jeffrey isn't a little boy with cancer anymore. He's a teen who's in remission, but life still feels fragile. The aftereffects of treatment have left Jeffrey with an inability to be a great student or to walk without limping. His parents still worry about him. His older brother, Steven, lost it and took off to Africa to be in a drumming circle and "find himself." Jeffrey has a little soul searching to do, too, which begins with his escalating anger at Steven, an old friend who is keeping something secret, and a girl who is way out of his league but who thinks he's cute.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439837065
ISBN-13: 9780439837064
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 8:54 am55 stars
    This book is amazing. It is truly amazing and it is one of the most inspiring book I've ever read, which is why I gave it 5 stars. This book follows Jeffery Alpher, and it is the sequel to the book Girls, Drums, and Dangerous Pie. Even after overcoming cancer and wanting to leave it behind, cancer still affects his life every day. The chemotherapy mad his brain different, and it is harder for him to stay focused in school. Read the book to find out how Jeffery deals with how cancer is still a big part of his life.
    • booksFriday, March 22, 2019 at 8:30 am
      This book was very, Very, VERY boring! 90% of the book is just talking about random things. I regret spending my time on this book
      • AliciaMonday, December 17, 2018 at 1:15 pm
        It was amazing it made me tear up a bit, loved the part when lindsey likes jeffrey its just so cute but its pretty said when jeffrey doesnt accept that she thinks hes cute.
        • rockstar15
          rockstar15Thursday, November 12, 2015 at 12:46 pm55 stars
          it is a very good book . It is about this kid named Jeffrey and he had cancer. And right now he is going thought a rough life with the stuff that is going on with him
          • captaina
            captainaSunday, April 19, 2015 at 4:36 pm
            I would definitely recommend this book to the funny yet serious people. This book is a bout Jeffery an 8th grade student who is a cancer survivor,Tad, Jeffery's friend, who hasn't been qualified as a cancer survivor yet. Jeffery has girl problems with Lindsey, a Cali girl. Tad keeps it a secret from Jeffery that he needs a bone marrow transplant. Tad's sister,Yvonne has to donate her bone marrow. Jeffery rides his bike for Tad to raise money. Tad dies while Jeffery is riding. He dies at 10:32 a.m.. Jeffery talks to Tad at his grave at the end. But you have to read the book to get the real effect.
            • miche
              micheTuesday, March 31, 2015 at 10:41 am44 stars
              i'm reading this book right now, so far its kinda funny and kinda serious at the same time. I think Jeffery is cool but I like Tad a little better. Also I think its funny that even though Jeffery's dad loves math, but Jeffery not only isnt too good at it, but also hates it.
              • bunnybodin
                bunnybodinSaturday, October 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm33 stars
                I thought that this was a good book, but it bored me a little.
                • imdabomb
                  imdabombThursday, October 11, 2012 at 4:20 am55 stars
                  This book is sooooooooo good!!! So, in the book the main character; Jeffrey is just recovering from having cancer and starts 8th grade...his best friend Tad who also had cancer is keeping something extremely big a secret and the new girl; Lindsay who is wayyy out of his league thinks Jeffrey is cute. Very heartwarming and funny :)