Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.747153
From the author of the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots comes an inspiring novel about figuring out who you are and doing what you love.

Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most musical. In fact, Albie has a long list of the things he's not very good at. But then Albie gets a new babysitter, Calista, who helps him figure out all of the things he is good at and how he can take pride in himself.

A perfect companion to Lisa Graff's National Book Award-nominated A Tangle of Knots, this novel explores a similar theme in a realistic contemporary world where kids will easily be able to relate their own struggles to Albie's. Great for fans of Rebecca Stead's Liar and Spy, RJ Palacio's Wonder and Cynthia Lord's Rules.

Praise for ABSOLUTELY ALMOST

* "Albie comes through significant emotional hardship to a genuine sense of self-worth."--School Library Journal, starred review

* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, starred review

* "Achingly superb, Albie’s story shines."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward, taking on the world at his own speed."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Lately the patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage

"Maybe the wonder of Absolutely Almost is that it’s willing to give us an almost unheard of hero."--Betsy Bird, Fuse #8 Blog

"Graff...again draws on her ability to create rich lifeworlds for her characters to present a boy who is gifted in many ways....[T]his is a sharp portrait of an outsider’s inner perspective, and Albie’s coming to terms with himself will be cheered by many."--BCCB Reviews
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 12, 2014 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399164057
ISBN-13: 9780399164057
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dolphins4life17
    dolphins4life17Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 3:10 pm55 stars
    Amazing book! It made me cry and laugh. I felt like I was in the book and highly recommend it. Enjoy reading one of the best books in the universe!
    • imabookworm3
      imabookworm3Friday, August 9, 2019 at 8:35 am55 stars
      I decided to read this book because it had an interesting title. This book was really good because it had a lot of conflict and it was a realistic fiction. It was just really good overall. Very well written story.
      • ravenclaw35
        ravenclaw35Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:24 pm
        I don't know why, but I've come across many Korean books lately. :) Is it a good thing...maybe. It's weird and awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • anajas1
          anajas1Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 2:31 pm55 stars
          This is an awesome book, that really shows you that everyone is different, and everyone matter. Albie is a okay student. He is an okay friend. He is an okay artist. He is okay in everything. But when he meets Calista, his new babysitter, he learns that everyone is worthy of something and that everyone has something special about them.
          • genouisking
            genouiskingFriday, September 16, 2016 at 10:27 am55 stars
            I like this book because Calista is helping Albie with his reading test. But he is still having trouble with his reading because somebody is bullying him.
            • graceThursday, August 25, 2016 at 11:30 am
              nice
              • egraham
                egrahamTuesday, June 7, 2016 at 2:20 pm44 stars
                Sweet story
                • sushi321
                  sushi321Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 8:03 am55 stars
                  This was an interesting book.
                  • sushi321
                    sushi321Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 8:02 am55 stars
                    This was a great book!
                    • cditty22
                      cditty22Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 2:11 pm
                      Such a good book.