Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.934194

Rip and Red are best friends whose fifth-grade year is nothing like what they expected. They have a crazy new tattooed teacher named Mr. Acevedo, who doesn't believe in tests or homework and who likes off-the-wall projects, the more "off" the better. They also find themselves with a new basketball coach: Mr. Acevedo! Easy-going Rip is knocked completely out of his comfort zone. And for Red, who has autism and really needs things to be exactly a certain way, the changes are even more of a struggle. But together these two make a great duo who know how to help each other―and find ways to make a difference―in the classroom and on the court.

With its energetic and authentic story and artwork, this is a fresh, fun book about school, sports, and friendship.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374301301
ISBN-13: 9780374301309
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • landonTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 7:54 am
    i got most valuable players
    • Prince Friday, May 18, 2018 at 9:26 am
      This was a really good book and i really want a part 2
      • hegibelexe
        hegibelexeFriday, November 10, 2017 at 7:54 am
        I can tell this book is going to be good because the first two pages it was spectacular!!!
        • mirsoftball8
          mirsoftball8Wednesday, November 1, 2017 at 11:52 am44 stars
          Rip and Red are two best friend boys who have an unusual teacher.His name is Mr. Acevedo and he doesn't act like a normal 5th grade teacher. He doesn't believe in worksheets, and calls his class a "Worksheet free zone". He calls the student whatever the student wanted him to and doesn't give much homework. For one project, he wants the class to come up with gross things for a project but he doesn't tell why until later. On the first day of school, Rip and Red also find out that their teacher is their basketball coach! Join Rip and red for a crazy year in 5th grade!
          • RileychestnutThursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:45 am
            I think is that this this book is cute
            • sr05885
              sr05885Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 5:06 am55 stars
              This book was great!It was about Rip and Red and they find that their 5th grade year is crazy!They get a new teacher and basketball coach called Mr.Acevedo and Rip is thrown out of his comfort zone in basketball and Red has autism so she starts to struggle in school because of the crazy projects they do.I recommend!
              • bobelly
                bobellySaturday, September 10, 2016 at 2:30 pm22 stars
                This book was about two boys and their weird teacher. The teacher does a gross class project and he is the coach for the basketball team. I like basketball but the teacher was just too much. I stopped reading this book half way through. I didn't like the way they talked.
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 7:47 am33 stars
                  This book is good for anyone because it teaches a lesson about friendship. Rip and Red have a new teacher in fifth grade that also turns out to be their basketball coach. They have to adjust to the changes, which is especially hard for Red because he's autistic.
                  • strawberry1234
                    strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 5:58 am55 stars
                    I like this book. My favorite character is the teacher he is funny when i heard that he was the coach. i would did this book if i were you
                    • coreycole
                      coreycoleTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 11:37 am55 stars
                      this was great it would have been better if it was hockey because hockry is the hreatest sport ever but this was a good book with lots of tips for how and how not to play the game. i cant wait for more boks like this hope theres more on y next summer list