Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a5.848124

The bestselling author of Message in a Bottle and The Notebook returns with a deeply moving tale of first love and its transformational powers.

"When I was seventeen, my life changed forever"... So begins Nicholas Sparks' touching tale of Landon Carter, a teenage boy living in the small town of Beaufort, North Carolina in the late 1950s. Landon is a typical teenager who just wants to have a fun senior year before heading off to college. The last thing he anticipated is Jamie Sullivan, the sweet, pious daughter of the town's Baptist minister. But on the evening of Beaufort's annual Christmas pageant, Landon will undergo a change of heart that will forever alter the course of his life. In the months that follow, Landon discovers truths that it takes most people a lifetime to learn- truths about the nature of beauty, the joy of giving, the pain of loss, and, most of all, the transformational power of love.

Nicholas Sparks' most recent novel, Message in a Bottle has nearly 700,000 hardcover copies in print and was on the New York Times hardcover bestseller list for 28 weeks. The Warner paperback edition has over 1.5 million copies in print. In spring 1999, it was released as a major motion picture starring Kevin Costner, Robin Wright Penn and Paul Newman. A New York Times hardcover bestseller for 56 weeks and a paperback bestseller for well over a year, Nicholas Sparks' first novel, The Notebook (1996) has nearly three million hardcover and paperback copies in print combined.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on October 19, 1999 by Random House Large Print
ISBN-10: 037540872X
ISBN-13: 9780375408724
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • memyselfandiyay
    memyselfandiyayFriday, April 5, 2019 at 8:49 am55 stars
    I love this book. It's sad but fun to read. When I read it, towards the end I started crying.
    • bookqueen1o13
      bookqueen1o13Friday, March 24, 2017 at 6:43 am55 stars
      i have never read the book is it good i have seen the movie an it one of my favorites
      • neonbook
        neonbookThursday, March 23, 2017 at 5:47 am55 starsFeatured
        I read this book today ... it was a heartbreaking story .... I really love to read love stories and seems like this is my first time... Landon who is really popular at school fell in love with a girl named Jamie ... who was really king and nice .. at first for land on it was hard to believe that he loved Jamie ... Jamie told him at first that he should promise her that he will never fall in love with her... landon at first took it as a joke ... he be lived that he can never fell in love with her but just be good friends ... but when landon confessed his love for Jamie ... Jamie fell in love with him too.. everything went perfect and great until one day landon found out that Jamie had a disease.although landon heart was broken into little pieces he didn't give up any hopes ... he stayed with her and made all her wishes come true till the day he died .. landon married her before she died ... if you are someone who is finding for a perfect love story then read this perfect love story which will make your day better... for more love stories read Nicolas sparks books... ❤❤❤❤❤ this story really touched my heart ...it was a sad but a perfect ending 😍
        • laurak
          laurakThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:32 am55 starsFeatured
          This book is one of my favourite of Nicholas Sparks, if you are a fan of love stories, then you would definitely love this book. This story is talking about a girl named Jamie that is not popular at school, but very kind, she sings well, she would sing for the church, but wear the same sweater everyday. A boy named Landon, which was in the popular group, he looked down at Jamie at first, until one day, he found out that he is different, although he couldn't believe at first, but he fell in love with Jamie, and Jamie incurably fell in love with him too. Landon went from mean, vicious, to nice, good kid, everyone was shocked. When everything was going well, Landon found out that Jamie had a terminal disease that can not be healed, and didn't have much time. Instead of leaving her, Landon decided to stay by her side, marry her, take care of her for rest of her life. This book taught me that, every demon has an angel living inside, no matter how bad you are, there will always be a silver lining, you just have to try. This book would bring you tears, and warmth, I would recommend this book to everyone that's interested in love stories, enjoy!
          • tiffanyl
            tiffanylThursday, December 3, 2015 at 11:41 am
            I really enjoy reading this book, it makes be cry at the last part and makes me know that the troublemaker boy, Landon, even though he do things that are really mean to others, but after he fall in love with Jamie, he changed, and he is like a total different person, he don’t care about what other thinks, because he loves her, when you love someone, you wouldn’t care what others think. At last Jamie told Landon that she got cancer and she doesn’t have much time left, Landon didn’t leave her, he stays with her, and married her. After Jamie died, Landon started to study medical because of Jamie, and he still goes to Jamie’s house to visit her dad every single day. What Landon did let me thinks that he a really really nice man, and Jamie does deserve him, I think every girl would want to have that kind of boyfriend one day. When I read the book, it makes me cry a lot, and when I watch the movie, it makes me cry more, they are both good though, just that I’m very emotional.
            • tiffanyl
              tiffanylThursday, December 3, 2015 at 11:17 am
              I really enjoy reading this book, it makes be cry at the last part and makes me know that the troublemaker boy, Landon, even though he do things that are really mean to others, but after he fall in love with Jamie, he changed, and he is like a total different person, he don’t care about what other thinks, because he loves her, when you love someone, you wouldn’t care what others think. At last Jamie told Landon that she got cancer and she doesn’t have much time left, Landon didn’t leave her, he stays with her, and married her. After Jamie died, Landon started to study medical because of Jamie, and he still goes to Jamie’s house to visit her dad every single day. What Landon did let me thinks that he a really really nice man, and Jamie does deserve him, I think every girl would want to have that kind of boyfriend one day. When I read the book, it makes me cry a lot, and when I watch the movie, it makes me cry more, they are both good though, just that I’m very emotional.
              • alicew
                alicewWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 12:08 am55 stars
                A Walk To Remeber is a classic of Nicholas Sparks. This book perfectly describes how time is money. I really like the way the story goes and how the characters were both well developed with Landon being the trouble kid and Jamie, the nice and innocent daughter of the town's Baptist minister. personally, my favorite character would definetly be Landon, because throughout the story, you can see and feel how he changed from the beginning. I really liked this story a lot and the movie also. Sparks really brought this book to live and made the readers feel everything the characters are. I would recommend this book to people who like romance novels, and people at the age around 12~17, and you could maybe go check out some other Nicholas Sparks books if you liked this one.
                • LilMonday, May 18, 2015 at 9:07 am
                  This book rocks