A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning: The Short-Lived Edition

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 7n/a6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on May 29, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062206044
ISBN-13: 9780062206046
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • goats218
    goats218Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 2:06 pm
    I love this series check out all the books up there!
    • waterfallgirl
      waterfallgirlThursday, November 28, 2019 at 6:40 pm
      This book tells about 3 kids, violet, klaus,and sunny who live with their parents but one day by the beach they are told that their entire house has been burnt down and their parents died in the fire too. The are then sent to a evil man called count olaf who trys gets to get his hands on the money their parents left them.
      • ghost_dk_diemx
        ghost_dk_diemxWednesday, November 6, 2019 at 8:11 pm
        There a 13 books in this series and I finished it in 5th grade I'm in 6th now but anyway it's and interesting book where 3 kids sunny, Klaus and Violet lost there family in a fire because a crooked man named count Olaf wanted there big fortune. These kids are the Baudelaire children and they were actually rich. Violet could not have the money to use until a specific age so she and her siblings got adopted by Count Olaf. Count Olaf tricked Violet into marrying him threatening to throw her sister Sunny off the roof. So she said she would but tricked him and they all escaped except he still wanted there money so he followed them and that's how the series starts. It has a few tricky words in it so if you don't have a very high reading level you could still challenge your self. It's a level (W) or (V) I can't remember one of those at least. So I do really recommend this book or book series to all of you.
        • annathecatlover
          annathecatloverSunday, November 3, 2019 at 5:16 am
          I love this book I have nine of them! And I recommend it for grades 4-5 or 5-6
          • bananamana
            bananamanaTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
            This book/show is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • wolfchildren
              wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:09 pm
              9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
              • wiccanbat666
                wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:19 pm
                This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                • 23unicorncat
                  23unicorncatMonday, April 16, 2018 at 10:49 am
                  :O so sad
                  • doglover1529
                    doglover1529Sunday, April 15, 2018 at 9:46 am
                    I liked reading this book because it was full of action, clues, and suspense. I recommend the whole series.
                    • mosodebege
                      mosodebegeFriday, December 15, 2017 at 7:56 am
                      This book is great I totally recommend it. It is so hard to put the book down just once because it is so exciting and I think that the Baudelaire children will have many great adventures and use team work to take down Count Olaf!