Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.349625
A moving middle-grade story about love, loss, and the unlikely places we find home.

Poppy's life has been turned upside down after her grandma (and guardian) had a stroke and ended up in the hospital. But Poppy is working on a plan to help Grandma Beth so their life together can go back to normal. But when she witnesses an armed robbery, "back to normal" slips even further out of her reach. To keep Poppy safe, the budget-strapped police devise an unusual "witness protection program," wherein Poppy will stay with Detective Brannigan's mother. Soon Poppy is feeling almost at home, even making sort-of friends with a girl named Lizzie and definitely friending Gunner, a beautiful dog with an uncertain fate. But it's still not home. So while she and Lizzie navigate a rocky friendship and plot to save Gunner's life, Poppy also tries to figure out a new plan to save Grandma Beth and their home, all while avoiding a dangerous robber who might be searching for her. But what if Grandma Beth can never come home and the robber is put behind bars? What will happen to Poppy then?
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545667062
ISBN-13: 9780545667067
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SummerdogFriday, August 17, 2018 at 9:55 am
    I would strongly recommend this book because how interesting it is. If you like mysteries and dogs then you'll love this book. I couldn't stop reading it since it was just too good! A Million Ways Home is by far one of my favorite books I have ever read!
    • zubyfajemuvezi
      zubyfajemuveziThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:54 am44 stars
      I want to read this book cause when i see the trailer i really enjoy it!!!!
      • doggygirlThursday, June 1, 2017 at 12:17 pm
        this was a great book! it has a lot of description that makes you want to keep reading. the author does a great dog with emotion and makes you feel they way the characters do. i recommend this book to anyone. it was truely amazing!
        • harrypotter87
          harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 10:01 am55 stars
          this was a really interesting book
          • minecart12
            minecart12Saturday, September 5, 2015 at 3:56 pm33 stars
            good book
            • jdf11
              jdf11Thursday, April 9, 2015 at 8:05 am44 stars
              This is a good book! It tells me somethings about the artist.
              • soccergirl00
                soccergirl00Friday, February 20, 2015 at 6:31 am55 stars
                This book was truly amazing. I think my favorite part of the book is when Poppy calls Trey, telling him that herself and Lizzie saw William Eugene Frank, and how the police and Trey all captured Frank. A Million Ways Home by Dianna Dorisi Winget deserves a five stars rating!
                • edmodo-zyr3tcbxjf
                  edmodo-zyr3tcbxjfThursday, November 20, 2014 at 9:35 am55 stars
                  This book is about a dog name Poppy Parker ends up in a hospital, but he can fix a lot of problems were ever he goes because he can fix problems because it said in the book. I love this book really bad.
                  • girlmeetscamera
                    girlmeetscameraFriday, September 26, 2014 at 7:32 am55 stars
                    This book is so good! The author does a great job of displaying emotion. When Poppy was sad, I was sad, and when she was scared, I was scared. This was such a good book and I recommend it to everyone!