Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.758208
hirteen-year-old Mia Winchell appears to be a typical eighth grader. But Mia is keeping a secret from everyone who knows her: sounds, numbers and words appear in color for her. Mia has synesthesia, the mingling of perceptions whereby a person can see sounds, smell colors, or taste shapes. A Mango-Shaped Space is a poignant, coming-of-age novel spiced with wit and humor that chronicles Mia's developing appreciation of her gift and the part it plays in her life.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on April 16, 2003 by Little, Brown Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316523887
ISBN-13: 9780316523882
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • potterhead84
    potterhead84Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:03 pm55 stars
    A Mango Shaped Space By wendy mass A Mango Shaped Space is about a 13 year old girl named Mia Winchell who has synesthesia (sin-es-thee-ja). Numbers, sounds, and words have colors to her. I really liked this book because it was about a girl discovering her gifts and talents. This book taught me that without certain quirks and talents, life is boring. Like vanilla ice cream. In the book her friend has a poster, its balck and white to everyone. To Mia it’s colorful, which is really cool. I related to this book in many ways. The reason I picked it up and read it is because she had/has a cat and I have a cat. I also relate to Mia because I’m very artistic and see the world differently than other people. I view the world as a canvas, where we are just a streak on the canvas. We can do something big in the world and leave a bigger mark on the world. In the book after Mia fails her test, she tells her parents about her colors. She has been keeping this secret for 13 years. When she tells her parents they first don’t believe her. They then think of crazy far fetched explanations of why she sees colors. Maybe she memorized the Colored letter blocks she used to play with. Maybe she inhaled drugs, and other crazy things. This shows how us humans think. First we are shocked that something so different is real and right here in front of us. Then we still doubt until it’s proven. *** I found this book very pleasing, well written as well as inspiring. ***“There are plenty of eyewitness accounts, just because you’re so narrow-minded you need to have everything shoved under your nose before you -“ -Luna Lovegood, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderSunday, May 3, 2020 at 9:48 am33 stars
      I thought that this book should be for older kids because of parts that mention growing up. This book is about a girl named Mia, who has synesthesia, a unique condition that allows a mingling of the senses. It allows her to see words in the form of color. It's her secret, until she reveals it due to a school incident. No one believes her, and every doctor she has been to could not figure out what was going on, until she met Jerry who tells her about her condition. Now Mia has to face a lot of things, like her own group of people with the same condition as her, a boy she might like, and her cat Mango, who isn't doing well since the day she found him. Mia's world is about to change greatly, and it's up to her to figure out if it's a good thing. I recommend this book for ages 14 and up, and I hope you like it.
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Saturday, August 10, 2019 at 1:03 pm55 stars
        This is a stand alone noel written by Wendy Mass. In this book Mia has always seen shapes with each sound. So when she learns that it's not normal she is surprised. Then an unexpected death happens making her even more shocked. what will Mia do? Read the book to find out!
        • auntieb
          auntiebWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 4:03 pm55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! So this book is about Mia who has Synesthesia which makes her see colors when she hears noise and letters and numbers each have different colors as well, but it starts overwhelming her and she gets scared wondering if she is going crazy? Before when she tried to tell people about it they acted like it was a serious problem so Mia dropped it and hasn't spoken about it since. Until now. She tells her parents and she is able to get in contact with other people who have Synesthesia and she really enjoys it. But then (SPOILER) her cat dies and her colors start disappearing and she wonders will she ever see the same way?
          • KintaroSaturday, April 6, 2019 at 8:55 am
            Overall, the story and the plot was really intriguing and amazing. The author helped show in-depth what synesthesia is really like. BUT. I hate almost all the characters. Mia, the main character, is so self-centered and acts like her condition literally prohibits her from doing anything challenging, like algebra or Spanish. Her parents seem very immature and blame EACH OTHER for the condition their daughter has. They can't even tell the signs that their cat is about to die.
            • auntieb
              auntiebSunday, November 18, 2018 at 11:23 am55 stars
              This book is absolutely amazing, this book is about a girl named Mia who has synesthesia. What is synesthesia? Synesthesia is when you experience two sensations at once, for example: you taste color, see color when there is noise, and letters could each have a color. I really loved learning about synesthesia. When Mia says numbers have colors in Kindergarten nobody believes her, so Mia tells them it was a joke. Then in Eighth grade Mia can't take not knowing anymore so she tells her parents. This is the journey of Mia finding herself, and her colors.
              • bookqueen1o13
                bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:14 pm
                THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD WORDS CAN NOT DESCRIBE. THIS BOOK MADE ME CRY MANY TIMES AND MADE ME LAUGH OUT LOUD THIS BOOK IS THE REAL THING ITS LEGIT AND ALL AROUNDAWESOME I THINK EVERY ONE SHOULD AT LEASE READ IT ONCE
                • sparkly22Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:05 am
                  Wendy Mass is the author of A mango shaped space and she brings people into the world of mia winchell and all of her chaos. The setting of A Mango shaped space takes place in present day in the suburbs of chicago. The main character is Mia Winchell, she has a disease that is unknown and nobody knows about it. “All those people in their black and white worlds-they have no idea what they're missing” This is one of my fav quotes from the book. A Mango shaped space was such a funny and touching book. As I was reading the book I felt as if I could see,smell, and taste some of the things Mia was talking about. A Mango Shaped Space is a fabulous book!!!!!
                  • #readingisfunSaturday, February 11, 2017 at 3:48 pm
                    I think this book is awesome already! Even though I didn't even finish it yet. it talks a lot about not caring what other people think of you! and in the book Mia loves her cat so much. that she thinks that ''Mango,'' [the cat] reminds her of grandpa! Which I think is cool.
                    • ready4anything
                      ready4anythingFriday, December 16, 2016 at 3:46 pm44 stars
                      Not a bad book. Okay.