Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.432823
This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of RULES explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the daughter of migrant workers.

When Lily's blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it's Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season.

After their initial chance meeting, Salma and Lily bond over painting bee boxes for Lily's grandfather, and Salma's friendship transforms Lily's summer. But when Salma decides to run in the upcoming Blueberry Queen pageant, they'll have to face some tough truths about friendship and belonging. Should an outsider like Salma really participate in the pageant-and possibly win?

Set amongst the blueberry barrens and by the sea, this is a gorgeous new novel by Newbery Honor author Cynthia Lord that tackles themes of prejudice and friendship, loss and love.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 26, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545700272
ISBN-13: 9780545700276
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • morganwishmastr
    morganwishmastrThursday, October 24, 2019 at 1:25 pm
    It was a good book and I liked how Salma was different and didn't care about what other people thought.
    • LeeTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 11:50 am
      good book!!!! love it
      • aow
        aowSaturday, December 2, 2017 at 1:07 pm55 stars
        Its a wonderful story about pushing threw when times were hard and also about friendship.
        • mybooksandi
          mybooksandiTuesday, May 2, 2017 at 3:02 pm33 stars
          Okay, okay.... let's begin, A Handful of Stars by Cynthia Lord was a book that I liked. This one makes you feel two emotions, happy and sad. I'll show you what I mean by using emojis. ( This contains spoilers) Lucky running away ( 😭) Meeting Salma (πŸ˜€) Finding out that Salma is poor (😭) PorkPie (πŸ˜€) Lucky being blind (😭) Entering Pageant (πŸ’„πŸ˜€) Now, now, now... the negatives. Well, I really did not like the fact that Hannah always wins. And just because Salma was telling the truth she did not make it. I kind of felt a tad bit of racism from the judges of the pageant and the characters in general. But anyway, as I reviewer I stress a lot about the details, and I found that a little something was wrong with the concept. Other than that, I really loved this one. I recommend this, and three stars is nothing to sneeze aboutπŸ˜€
          • ajg16
            ajg16Friday, May 5, 2017 at 7:55 am
            I love your review!
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiSunday, May 7, 2017 at 7:45 am33 stars
              @ajg14, Thank you so muchπŸ˜€
              • ajg16
                ajg16Monday, June 26, 2017 at 6:25 pm
                I love how u used the emojisπŸ˜‰πŸ˜΅πŸ˜€πŸ˜Ž
          • aub112705
            aub112705Friday, April 22, 2016 at 6:26 pm
            The main character is just like me she lives in Maine, picks blueberries,and has a blind dog