From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 12, 2019 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062836684
ISBN-13: 9780062836687
3 Book Reviews
  • techfashion0315
    techfashion031524 days55 stars
    This is such a great book! This book is all about racial equality, standing up for what you believe in, and friendship. It was an excellent book and I believe everyone should read it. The author mixes middle school drama with real life problems regarding race. It is a great book and I strongly suggest it!
    • arg1473
      arg147311 months55 stars
      Seventh Grade is filled with tough decisions for Shayla, she is faced with the fear of making wrong decisions, but even worse she scared to make the right decision. Shayla is very thankful for her long time best friends Julia and Isabella. However, now that Seventh grade has started, she feels like they are drifting apart. For some reason Shayla is faced with the problem of fitting in. Her older sister Hana encourages her to participate with her in the Black Lives Matter Movement, at first Shayla is skeptical about joining her sister, but with the way things are going for her in school and with her best friends, she decides to join her sister, however she is fearful of making wrong decisions! She's allergic to trouble! This book includes bonds of friendship and rising up against power I recommend this book to anyone who interested in social rights, self empowerment, and friendship
      • satwikagejara
        satwikagejaraover 1 year55 stars
        All twelve-year-old Shayla wants to do is follow the rules, but when she starts seventh grade, the rules have changed. Her two best friends seem to be going their own ways and some people at school are saying that she's not black enough. After a ruling in a controversial court case involving the shooting of a black man by a white police officer, Shayla decides to join the Black Lives Matter movement and begins passing out black armbands at school. As the unrest in both Los Angeles and her school spreads, Shayla must figure out if some things are worth breaking the rules. I loved this book because it is amazing and disables any myths about the BLM movement. And did I mention it is amazing!?