"A book that reminds us of the kidness we are all capable of." -- Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor winner and author of Okay For Now

A well. A wish. And a little drop of hope.

Times are tough. Jobs are scarce and miracles are in short supply. But something strange is happening in If Only, Ohio. An old well has suddenly, impossibly, begun to grant wishes. And three sixth graders are the only ones who know why.

Ernest Wilmette believes a good deed makes magic happen. Ryan Hardy thinks they should just mind their own business. Lizzy MacComber believes in facts, not fairy tales. Of course, you don't have to believe in wishes to make one.

As more wishes are made, the well's true secret gets harder and harder to keep. Ernest, Ryan, and Lizzy know they can't fix the world. But in their own little corner of it, they can give everyone a little hope... one wish at a time.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 26, 2019 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338233203
ISBN-13: 9781338233209
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprSunday, June 2, 2019 at 3:44 pm55 stars
    i would definitely recommend this to fans of how to avoid extinction and over the moon. i really enjoyed this book because it had a really good pace and how everything interconnected was super cool. some parts were really confusing but over all, i would give it a good five stars.
    • zzayumi
      zzayumiMonday, May 27, 2019 at 7:32 am55 stars
      Times are tough. Jobs are scarce and miracles are in short supply. But something strange is happening in If Only, Ohio. An old well has suddenly, impossibly, begun to grant wishes. And three sixth graders are the only ones who know why.
      • 👍Monday, April 29, 2019 at 5:54 pm
        It is a good book. Also it is very interesting
        • booklover06Monday, March 18, 2019 at 8:26 am
          Cant wait to read this looks interesting.
          • borntoread
            borntoreadFriday, March 15, 2019 at 2:56 pm55 starsFeatured
            Are you looking for a book that is full of sweet moments and true friendships? Well, if so, then “A Drop of Hope” is the book for you! Centered around several kids and their lives, this book will keep you hooked the whole time! One of the characters is Ernest Wilmette. Ernest is from a very wealthy family. He is shy, so he tries to keep to himself at school, but things begin to change for him after he goes into his grandfather's attic. Ryan Hardy is an athlete at the school, who's life starts to change, when he helps keep Ernest from being bullied. Lizzy MacComber is a girl struggling with her parents' divorce. Once Lizzy finds out what is happening between Ryan and Ernest, she is drawn into the mystery behind what Ernest discovered in his grandfather's attic. One of my favorite parts of this book was when Lizzy embraced who she is, and stopped worrying about what other people think of her. This book is such a great reminder to always be yourself, to treat people the way you want to be treated, to support each other and to be your best YOU! It was a great book for me and I hope you will love it as much as I did!
            • selina
              selinaWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 1:41 pm33 stars
              Ernest Wilmette thinks that he can create miracles and somehow create hope. Ryan Hardy thinks that he should mind his own business. Lizzy MacComber believes in fact and not the "fairy tales" (or so she calls) Ernest is coming up with. One day something very strange happens. An old well seems to be granting wishes to whomever wishes upon it. Only Ernest, Ryan and Lizzy know what the well's true intentions are and that secret is getting harder and harder to keep. They understand that they can't fix the world and that they should do their best in their little corner of it. They also have to keep up hope in order to save it.
              • domosaur
                domosaurFriday, December 28, 2018 at 9:50 am55 starsFeatured
                It all started with the legend of Thompkins Well, which was said to grant wishes to those who asked. Then one day, when Ryan Hardy was walking Ernest Wilmette home from school to avoid a fight with the school bully, they got lost. Ryan thought he knew where to go, but he didn't know where he was now. Ernest suddenly ran off the trail, forcing Ryan to follow him. What did they find? A cave. Actually, the bottom of a well, Thompkins Well. Faintly, they heard a wish, a wish from someone in their class. What were they supposed to do? Days went by, more wishes were asked for, and soon, some of those wishes were granted. How were the wishes being granted? Was it by magic, or was someone listening? To find out, read A Drop of Hope. My favorite aspect of the book was how the characters changed throughout the book and the ironic friendships that were made. I give this book 5 stars, and would recommend this to anyone who loves a magical story.
                • callie_b
                  callie_bWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 5:02 am55 starsFeatured
                  This book was flat-out amazing!! Ernest, Ryan and Lizzy have always seen and heard stories about their town of Cliffs Donnelly's wishing well. But they've never really believed that it actually granted wishes... until one day they find themselves underneath the well in a small cave, able to hear every wish tossed down into the well's abyss. And for some reason it seems to connect with Ernest's grandfather's attic. Ernest's grandfather told Ernest repeatedly and sort of spookily to clean up his attic after he passes, and when Ernest does, the object that he takes out of the attic ends up doing something to grant a wish from the well. Sounds pretty crazy, right?? Well, at this point nothing seems crazy anymore to Ernest, Lizzy and Ryan. They start seeing that with a little bit of kindness and thought, wishes do come true. This book was actually filled with some mystery and a lot of suspense. And I LOVED it!! It was SO GOOD! Keith Calabrese does an amazing job describing the 3 friend's tale, and I hung on to every word and devoured this book in 2 days! If you like adventure, mystery, and basically a good book, you NEED to read this book, because I COMPLETELY and TOTALLY recommend it, for any age and anyone. :)
                  • llpanda
                    llpandaFriday, November 30, 2018 at 7:56 pm33 stars
                    There is a legend in Cliffs Donnelly that the old Thompkins well grants wishes. Too bad it's just folklore because the small town could use some extra miracles. Then amazingly the wishes start to come true, but not in the normal way. This book was really fun to read the only thing I didn't like about it was that I felt it was a little hard to keep track of all the characters in the book. Other than that I thought it was a great story and it put a new spin on the steryotype wishing well magic.
                    • hummingbird1
                      hummingbird1Wednesday, November 21, 2018 at 11:13 am44 starsFeatured
                      When I read the summary of A Drop of Hope, I thought it sounded interesting and wanted to read it. It ended up being a great read and was not disappointed by it at all. In Cliffs Donnelly, Ohio, legend says that there is a well that grants wishes. At a time when many people are struggling with their lives, they find themselves going to the well often. However, it is not always the well that does the work. Three kids- Ernest, Ryan, and Lizzy learn things about the well that no one else knows and are able to hear the wishes people make. Through kindness, friendship, and teamwork, they work together to make lives better for the people of Cliffs Donnelly and learn some important things about themselves along the way. A Drop of Hope is one of those books that make you feel happy inside. I would definitely recommend this book to others and hope you like it as much as I do!