Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.561634

Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains, A Dog's Way Home is an unforgettable tale of the many miles, months, and mountains that divide two loyal friends—but that can't possibly keep them apart.

Abby knows that Tam, her Shetland sheepdog, is her north star, and she's pretty certain she's his, too. But when an accident separates Abby and Tam, it feels as though all the stars have fallen out of the sky and nothing will ever be right again. As the days between them turn to weeks, then months, dangers and changes fill up Abby's and Tam's lives. Will they ever find their way home to each other?

Daddy says, "Most folks got a north star in their life—something that gives their life extra meaning. Mine is music."

Without even thinking, I say, "Mine is Tam."

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on February 22, 2011 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0061986747
ISBN-13: 9780061986741
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • potterforever
    potterforeverSaturday, February 15, 2020 at 8:00 am55 stars
    It was such a great book. I cried in the beginning but it was a amazing story. I'm giving a shout out to the wonderful auther "good job". I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.
    • treysonTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 9:09 am
      loved it
      • 145
        145Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 8:09 am55 stars
        I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to my friends because it is very adventurous and very exciting. It also makes you want to get and have a puppy of your own.
        • kgrickel
          kgrickelSaturday, January 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm
          i disited to read this because it sounds like a sweet story
          • ladyirene
            ladyireneMonday, May 1, 2017 at 8:28 am55 stars
            This book is a book about a dog who had to find his way home<3.
            • s36670
              s36670Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 12:25 pm
              This book is really good!! It is full of adventure and bravery! If you like animals you are sure to like this book! Also if you like adventure books then this book would be very good for you. You feel like you are in the book with the characters and the dog!
              • erigabbry
                erigabbrySaturday, March 30, 2013 at 12:23 pm44 stars
                Really good so far!
                • msilva8077
                  msilva8077Friday, January 11, 2013 at 3:16 pm55 stars
                  THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!
                  • sweettart23
                    sweettart23Sunday, December 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm33 stars
                    I recommend this book to anybody that likes dogs and adventures. A Dog's Way Home is about a girl, Abby, and a border collie, Tam, that find each other after an accident.
                    • brdu
                      brduFriday, October 12, 2012 at 6:45 am
                      this looks like a heart-filled book i want to read it