A Dog's Life: The Autobiography Of A Stray

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6Q,T5.136247
Newbery Honoree Ann Martin once again proves her versatility with an incredible stylistic departure in this "autobiography" of a stray dog.

Squirrel and her brother Bone begin their lives in a toolshed behind someone's summer house. Their mother nurtures them and teaches them the many skills they will need to survive as stray dogs. But when their mother is taken from them suddenly and too soon, the puppies are forced to make their own way in the world, facing humans both gentle and brutal, busy highways, other animals, and the changing seasons. When Bone and Squirrel become separated, Squirrel must fend for herself, and in the process, makes two friends who in very different ways define her fate.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on October 1, 2005 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439715598
ISBN-13: 9780439715591
44 Book Reviews
  • carliFriday, March 12, 2021 at 7:07 am
    it looks like a great book
    • hmp
      hmpFriday, March 5, 2021 at 11:54 am44 stars
      Cuttness overload
      • hmp
        hmpFriday, March 5, 2021 at 11:53 am44 stars
        I love the book but plizz make it more cuter! ❤🙏
        • chacedaneil18
          chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:00 am
          so cute
          • zubyfajemuvezi
            zubyfajemuveziThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:58 am55 stars
            this book look really sad cause when i watch the trailer and it look really sad cause the dog is hungry and he had to find food and also stay away from human.!!!
            • pupcat46
              pupcat46Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:58 am
              It sound really good
              • lov
                lovSaturday, February 3, 2018 at 1:28 pm44 stars
                A stary dog finds a way to survive in the wild. After being separated with his brave brother he has to find a way to survive by himself
                • meowth
                  meowthFriday, March 24, 2017 at 9:45 am
                  This book was great! I will read it again soon. I say buy it!
                  • swirlycool
                    swirlycoolThursday, October 6, 2016 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                    So sad! It ended with her being an old dog, but finding a home with an old lady. I just can't believe that she got separated from her brother, Bone, at such a young age and losing her mother at an even younger age, too. Then her new companion Moon gets hit by a car and dies.
                    • crystal123432
                      crystal123432Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 7:59 am55 stars
                      i really liked it