A Dog's Life: The Autobiography Of A Stray

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6Q,T5.136247
Newbery Honoree Ann Martin once again proves her versatility with an incredible stylistic departure in this "autobiography" of a stray dog.

Squirrel and her brother Bone begin their lives in a toolshed behind someone's summer house. Their mother nurtures them and teaches them the many skills they will need to survive as stray dogs. But when their mother is taken from them suddenly and too soon, the puppies are forced to make their own way in the world, facing humans both gentle and brutal, busy highways, other animals, and the changing seasons. When Bone and Squirrel become separated, Squirrel must fend for herself, and in the process, makes two friends who in very different ways define her fate.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2007 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439717000
ISBN-13: 9780439717007
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chacedaneil18
    chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:00 am
    so cute
    • zubyfajemuvezi
      zubyfajemuveziThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:58 am55 stars
      this book look really sad cause when i watch the trailer and it look really sad cause the dog is hungry and he had to find food and also stay away from human.!!!
      • pupcat46
        pupcat46Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:58 am
        It sound really good
        • lov
          lovSaturday, February 3, 2018 at 1:28 pm44 stars
          A stary dog finds a way to survive in the wild. After being separated with his brave brother he has to find a way to survive by himself
          • meowth
            meowthFriday, March 24, 2017 at 9:45 am
            This book was great! I will read it again soon. I say buy it!
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolThursday, October 6, 2016 at 5:16 pm55 stars
              So sad! It ended with her being an old dog, but finding a home with an old lady. I just can't believe that she got separated from her brother, Bone, at such a young age and losing her mother at an even younger age, too. Then her new companion Moon gets hit by a car and dies.
              • crystal123432
                crystal123432Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 7:59 am55 stars
                i really liked it
                • 11292005fun
                  11292005funSaturday, February 13, 2016 at 9:41 am55 stars
                  Have not read it I am new here and I am 10
                  • derpy_doggie
                    derpy_doggieFriday, February 12, 2016 at 1:19 pm55 stars
                    I think this book is FANTABULOUS!!! I really love this book. I've been reading it since 4th grade and STILL read it!!πŸ˜πŸ˜„πŸ‘πŸŽ†πŸŽ‡Havent gotten tried of that book yet! It shows how independence can get you a really long way!
                    • gymnastgirl200Wednesday, December 16, 2015 at 6:17 am
                      I love how good this book is. My teacher last year read it to use and i loved it. It made may teacher cry at some parts and laugh at the others.