Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U3.929052

Ten-year-old Zoe Elias has perfect piano dreams. She can practically feel the keys under her flying fingers; she can hear the audience's applause. All she needs is a baby grand so she can start her lessons, and then she'll be well on her way to Carnegie Hall.

But when Dad ventures to the music store and ends up with a wheezy organ instead of a piano, Zoe's dreams hit a sour note. Learning the organ versions of old TV theme songs just isn't the same as mastering Beethoven on the piano. And the organ isn't the only part of Zoe's life in Michigan that's off-kilter, what with Mom constantly at work, Dad afraid to leave the house, and that odd boy, Wheeler Diggs, following her home from school every day.

Yet when Zoe enters the annual Perform-O-Rama organ competition, she finds that life is full of surprises--and that perfection may be even better when it's just a little off center.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on April 6, 2009 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 015206608X
ISBN-13: 9780152066086
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • diamondalia2006
    diamondalia2006Thursday, April 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm44 stars
    i think i like this book read it its intersting.
    • nataliabFriday, December 11, 2015 at 12:28 pm
      I loved this book it is so amazing there are so many descriptive words.
      • maddyp18
        maddyp18Tuesday, August 12, 2014 at 7:48 pm55 stars
        I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!!! It is a great realistic fiction story!!! It is about a girl, who really wants to play the piano, but then she ends up playing the organ instead. In this story it tells how you don't always get exactly what you want, but sometimes, different is perfect. Since I play the piano, I know what Zoe means by you have to work hard in piano, you can't sit back and relax. My favorite character in this book is Zoe because she is very understandable about things like how when in the beginning when she couldn't get a piano, she learned the organ instead. I also liked how it ended, but I don't want to give it away.
        • pikachu334
          pikachu334Saturday, March 8, 2014 at 8:00 am55 stars
          Im not done with this book but Zoe is trying to master the Perfectone thingy. I forgot the name..
          • 19083
            19083Wednesday, January 29, 2014 at 11:16 am44 stars
            the girl doesn't really fit in she only has one best friend who dumps her for another girl.When she gets a invite to her birthday she thought they could be best friends again the she finds out that her mother invited her.
            • kelsey
              kelseyWednesday, March 20, 2013 at 9:08 am55 stars
              Would someone please respond to my review? I want someone who has read this to tell me if it was a good book or not? I don't want to waste time reading something I know I wouldn't like. kelsey iluvtheflowerpowerbooks
              • otter
                otterFriday, November 1, 2013 at 5:16 pm
                This is an amazing book, even though you posted this eight months ago. Everyone should read this!
              • pandalover66
                pandalover66Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 5:05 pm
                im reading now and its really good at first i didnt get the cover but then when i started to read it i got it i just think its so good
                • amay
                  amayWednesday, January 9, 2013 at 7:58 am
                  This book has been recommend to me so many times. My friends say its a really good book...so i FINALLY decided to read it!
                  • chooseme123
                    chooseme123Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm
                    Good for you. :D
                  • peyton7890
                    peyton7890Friday, November 2, 2012 at 4:48 pm
                    so far it is really good so far hahahahahahahahahahah
                    • beautychic
                      beautychicSaturday, May 26, 2012 at 9:54 am44 stars
                      I like this book a lot. It gives a lot of good lessons that the main character learned and is very quirky and crazy cool! :) i love this book! :P