Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 5R4.621209

The first book in a funny, heartfelt, and irresistible young middle grade series starring an unforgettable young boy on the autism spectrum, from acclaimed author Elana K. Arnold and with illustrations by Charles Santoso.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life tends to be full of surprises—some of them good, some not so good. Today, though, is a good-surprise day. Bat’s mom, a veterinarian, has brought home a baby skunk, which she needs to take care of until she can hand him over to a wild-animal shelter.

But the minute Bat meets the kit, he knows they belong together. And he’s got one month to show his mom that a baby skunk might just make a pretty terrific pet.

"This sweet and thoughtful novel chronicles Bat’s experiences and challenges at school with friends and teachers and at home with his sister and divorced parents. Approachable for younger or reluctant readers while still delivering a powerful and thoughtful story" (from the review by Brightly.com, which named A Boy Called Bat a best book of 2017).

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on March 13, 2018 by Walden Pond Press
ISBN-10: 0062445839
ISBN-13: 9780062445834
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • eeveelutiongurl
    eeveelutiongurlSunday, January 10, 2021 at 12:18 pm55 stars
    I am reading this book now, and it is so far my fav
    • Xuri Friday, January 8, 2021 at 12:17 pm
      I did not read the book yet, but it sounds interesting. A boy named bat,how silly is that?
      • blueberryies
        blueberryiesFriday, January 8, 2021 at 10:03 am55 stars
        very good book i also read it with my class and it is sooo good of a book
        • emma-is-smiley
          emma-is-smileyThursday, January 7, 2021 at 3:37 am55 stars
          This is about an autistic boy named Bixby Alexander Tam (BAT) who loves animals and has divorced parents. His mum is a vet and his sister Janie has the totally different personality as him. When his mum saves a baby skunk and needs to keep it safe but give it to the animal control but Bat knows this skunk needs to stay. To those who like this, keep reading about Bat in "Bat and the Waiting Game" or "Bat and the End of Everything"
          • eeveelutiongurl
            eeveelutiongurlWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 8:01 pm55 stars
            This book is very interesting,
            • books rockFriday, November 9, 2018 at 10:58 am
              I think you did a great book I cant wait to see more books about bat and other carters
              • boo plasticFriday, November 9, 2018 at 10:58 am
                i am reading this book
                • pugsFriday, November 9, 2018 at 8:09 am
                  i think you did a awesome job makeing that book
                  • soccer dude7Friday, November 9, 2018 at 8:06 am
                    my teacher is reading that book to us!
                    • the buff alen Friday, November 9, 2018 at 7:22 am
                      i love this book so much