Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will love acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald’s new duology about two best friends who kick-start middle school with a bucket list of eleven things they need to do to become AMAZING before their joint twelfth birthday party.

The first day of middle school means trading in freeze tag at the pool for new schedules, fabulous outfits, and a fresh start. But for eleven-year-old Kaylan, the chaos of new locker combinations, cafeteria cliques, and potential first kisses is more than she can handle. She dreads the start of sixth grade and feels like she wants—no, needs—a winning game plan.

Luckily, Kaylan and her effortlessly chill BFF, Arianna, have a fool-proof plan for tackling transitions: a list of eleven things they need to do to totally transform themselves before they both turn twelve in November. But between making guy friends, getting detention (and makeovers!), helping humanity, and having super-candid conversations with their moms about their flaws, the first 100 days of school turn out worse than Kaylan ever imagined. Kaylan and Ari forget to focus on their friendship and soon their loyalty to the list—what was meant to help them keep it together—becomes the very thing tearing their lives apart.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 1, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062411748
ISBN-13: 9780062411747
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lol14
    lol14Friday, August 16, 2019 at 1:44 pm33 stars
    This is a really good book of girls like me who are just starting Middle school and are a little nervous .....!!! I love this book and I can't wait to read the next one!!!! This was LoL plz follow me!!!
    • cookie lover Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 4:06 pm
      i love this BOOK!!💖
      • sreadergirl
        sreadergirlWednesday, April 3, 2019 at 3:36 pm55 stars
        So far it is a really really really good book but I am not that far into it so therefore I don’t really know if the whole thing is a good book.
        • emilyryu
          emilyryuTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 7:00 pm55 stars
          This book is really great. Its about two girls and they make a list. They have to complete everything on the list. Also, there are 11 things on the list because they are turning 12.
          • obrienSunday, January 28, 2018 at 8:41 am
            what is the solution to the book
            • hanlap1718
              hanlap1718Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:14 am55 starsFeatured
              If you like books that have a twist and are between the age of 8 to 12 I recommend the book 11 before 12 by Lisa Greenwald. Kaylan Terrel, the main character in the book is 11 years old and about to turn 12. She and her best friend Arianna Nodberg are going into middle school. Arianna and Kaylan decide to make a “Eleven Fabulous Things to Make Us Even More AMAZING Before We Turn 12” list. For example, they have to kiss a boy, undergo an image makeover, and highlight their hair. Arianna and Kaylan both think Jason, the boy who moved next door to Arianna, is cute. They have started to hang out as friends. However, Kaylan likes another boy named Tyler. Tyler is Kaylans brother Ryan’s best friend. Tyler is always over Kaylan’s house. Every time Kaylan sees or talks to Tyler, she doesn’t know what to say. A few weeks before school starts, Arianna and Kaylan got their schedules for school and they did not have any classes together, besides lunch. They have been at school for a little while now and things have started to fall apart. They haven’t been talking and they’re now in a huge fight. There is a lot more crazy stuff that will happen in this book, but I think it is time for you to read it yourself and find out what happens next. Will Kaylan and Arianna make up and be friends again? Will they complete their whole list? I hope you enjoy reading the book 11 Before 12 as much as I did.
              • hanlap1718
                hanlap1718Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:13 am55 stars
                If you like books that have a twist and are between the age of 8 to 12 I recommend the book 11 before 12 by Lisa Greenwald. Kaylan Terrel, the main character in the book is 11 years old and about to turn 12. She and her best friend Arianna Nodberg are going into middle school. Arianna and Kaylan decide to make a “Eleven Fabulous Things to Make Us Even More AMAZING Before We Turn 12” list. For example, they have to kiss a boy, undergo an image makeover, and highlight their hair. Arianna and Kaylan both think Jason, the boy who moved next door to Arianna, is cute. They have started to hang out as friends. However, Kaylan likes another boy named Tyler. Tyler is Kaylans brother Ryan’s best friend. Tyler is always over Kaylan’s house. Every time Kaylan sees or talks to Tyler, she doesn’t know what to say. A few weeks before school starts, Arianna and Kaylan got their schedules for school and they did not have any classes together, besides lunch. They have been at school for a little while now and things have started to fall apart. They haven’t been talking and they’re now in a huge fight. There is a lot more crazy stuff that will happen in this book, but I think it is time for you to read it yourself and find out what happens next. Will Kaylan and Arianna make up and be friends again? Will they complete their whole list? I hope you enjoy reading the book 11 Before 12 as much as I did.