Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will love acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald’s new duology about two best friends who kick-start middle school with a bucket list of eleven things they need to do to become AMAZING before their joint twelfth birthday party.

The first day of middle school means trading in freeze tag at the pool for new schedules, fabulous outfits, and a fresh start. But for eleven-year-old Kaylan, the chaos of new locker combinations, cafeteria cliques, and potential first kisses is more than she can handle. She dreads the start of sixth grade and feels like she wants—no, needs—a winning game plan.

Luckily, Kaylan and her effortlessly chill BFF, Arianna, have a fool-proof plan for tackling transitions: a list of eleven things they need to do to totally transform themselves before they both turn twelve in November. But between making guy friends, getting detention (and makeovers!), helping humanity, and having super-candid conversations with their moms about their flaws, the first 100 days of school turn out worse than Kaylan ever imagined. Kaylan and Ari forget to focus on their friendship and soon their loyalty to the list—what was meant to help them keep it together—becomes the very thing tearing their lives apart.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 1, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062411748
ISBN-13: 9780062411747
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ariaThursday, September 17, 2020 at 9:23 am
    this is one of my favorite books! worth every cent! the whole series is amazing but this one is my fav! buy it! you will NOT regret it!
    • amers
      amersMonday, August 31, 2020 at 7:44 pm55 stars
      I'm loving it soooo far. It's basically about two best friends that make a list of things they want to do before they turn 12. For example, kiss a boy, get on TV, help humanity, get a guy friend, get a whole new me makeover, and more stuff I just can't think of anymore. 😂😂😂 XD. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 So they are starting a new middle school, and on the first day of school, at lunch, one of the best friends, Kaylen, Does not save Ari , her BFF a seat and is talking to another girl, Cami. Ari, gets mad and makes new friends: Marie, Syndey and some other ones. Ari and Kaylen aren't talking at the part I'm on right now. 😥😪 Kaylen auditions for the fall talent show, and she does super fast Clementine peeling while singing songs. 😂😂😂. 👍👍. That is wut part I am I am on right now. You HAVE to read this book!!!!!!!!!! It is so good!!!!!!! ❤❤🙂
      • Unknown Friday, November 29, 2019 at 4:14 pm
        This is a great book and I finished the second one I two days 😜
        • Selah Rae GravesFriday, October 18, 2019 at 2:06 pm
          I enjoyed this book!!
          • lol14
            lol14Friday, August 16, 2019 at 1:44 pm33 stars
            This is a really good book of girls like me who are just starting Middle school and are a little nervous .....!!! I love this book and I can't wait to read the next one!!!! This was LoL plz follow me!!!
            • cookie lover Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 4:06 pm
              i love this BOOK!!💖
              • sreadergirl
                sreadergirlWednesday, April 3, 2019 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                So far it is a really really really good book but I am not that far into it so therefore I don’t really know if the whole thing is a good book.
                • emilyryu
                  emilyryuTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 7:00 pm55 stars
                  This book is really great. Its about two girls and they make a list. They have to complete everything on the list. Also, there are 11 things on the list because they are turning 12.
                  • obrienSunday, January 28, 2018 at 8:41 am
                    what is the solution to the book
                    • hanlap1718
                      hanlap1718Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:14 am55 starsFeatured
                      If you like books that have a twist and are between the age of 8 to 12 I recommend the book 11 before 12 by Lisa Greenwald. Kaylan Terrel, the main character in the book is 11 years old and about to turn 12. She and her best friend Arianna Nodberg are going into middle school. Arianna and Kaylan decide to make a “Eleven Fabulous Things to Make Us Even More AMAZING Before We Turn 12” list. For example, they have to kiss a boy, undergo an image makeover, and highlight their hair. Arianna and Kaylan both think Jason, the boy who moved next door to Arianna, is cute. They have started to hang out as friends. However, Kaylan likes another boy named Tyler. Tyler is Kaylans brother Ryan’s best friend. Tyler is always over Kaylan’s house. Every time Kaylan sees or talks to Tyler, she doesn’t know what to say. A few weeks before school starts, Arianna and Kaylan got their schedules for school and they did not have any classes together, besides lunch. They have been at school for a little while now and things have started to fall apart. They haven’t been talking and they’re now in a huge fight. There is a lot more crazy stuff that will happen in this book, but I think it is time for you to read it yourself and find out what happens next. Will Kaylan and Arianna make up and be friends again? Will they complete their whole list? I hope you enjoy reading the book 11 Before 12 as much as I did.