The Lost Hero
Click to Rate

The Lost Hero

By Rick Riordan
282 ratings232 reviews311 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4n/a4.5127859
This is the number one, bestselling title in this new spin-off series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan. Old enemies awaken as camp half-blood's new arrivals prepare for war. When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods - despite the monsters roaming the woods and demigods practising archery with flaming arrows and explosives. But rumours of a terrible curse - and a missing hero - are flying around camp. It seems Jason, Piper and Leo are the chosen ones to embark on a terrifying new quest, which they must complete by the winter solstice in just four days time. Can the trio succeed on this deadly mission - and what must they sacrifice in order to survive?
Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141384921
232 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • funkymonkey479
    funkymonkey4795/22/20145 stars
    This book was amazing Percy goes missing and 3 new demigods show up and Hera is captured
    • coralfitcher
      coralfitcher5/23/20145 stars
      Well I loved the first series so I thought that the second series would be awesome to. I gave it a 1,000,000,000 out of 10! You would love this book to!
      • heyitslox
        heyitslox5/23/20142 stars
        It wasn't really all that great like the other Riordan stories but it was OK I guess
        • austin187
          austin1875/29/20145 stars
          this is a good great
          • skylar2403
            skylar24036/30/20145 stars
            In my opinion, everybody should read this book
            • coupdetat_8
              coupdetat_87/3/20145 stars
              I think Percy Jackson was pretty awesome and stuff. But after a while, you got kinda bored, thinking, like, is all Rick Riordan going to write about only Percy Jackson and just keep adding sequels to it? Don't get me wrong, Percy Jackson series are a blast, sometimes I feel like I know Percy in real life, but remembereing that he's just a book character. But I mean , when The Lost hero came out, WOW did everyone buy it!!!!! It was a huge surpirse. It was like Beyonce, a living legend, stop singing for a while and then BOOM!! She surprises you with a cool song. I was one of the first people to buy it and read it, I was at first extremely surpirsed that Rick Riordan had accomplished yet another AWESOME book. I'm really happy he had the book involving Percy and Annabeth, but delighted when NEW characters came out. JASON GRACE, PIPER MCLEAN, LEO VALDEZ, COACH HEDGE, and a new enemy.... GAEA AND HER GIANT SONS!!!! Not kidding when I said GIANT sons. OOh, almost forgot about Festus, the happy dragon. This book is a perfect mix of Roman and Greek Mythology and that plot is so good! I couldn't keep my eyes off of the book!
              • coupdetat_8
                coupdetat_87/3/20145 stars
                This book is about a blonde hair hottie, Jason Grace, his girlfriend, daughter of Aphrodite, Piper Mclean, and their mischevious, playful, funny, tinker around friend, Leo Valdez!!!! ( did I mention he was FUNNY?) Also, Rick here didn't forget about his buddy, Percy and Annabeth, they come out too! I would write more but this book is beyond description, if I tried to explain everything AWESOME, I would have copied Rick's book then! We can't have that happening! Please read this book!
                • brownie_forever
                  brownie_forever7/4/20145 stars
                  This was a really fun book! I really enjoyed this and am happy that some new characters came out cause it was getting kind of annoying about Percy Jackson and stuff but Rick Riordan made a complete different series and put it together with the Percy Jackson series! Another hand for Rick Riordan! Practically everyone I know has either read it or knows about it! So I definitely recommend this book to 3rd graders and up!
                  • beeslees
                    Ms. Lee7/27/20144 stars
                    Ok, so I really liked this book. I totally want to give away the ending and all the surprises but I want you all to be able to figure out the puzzle pieces on your own! Let me start off by telling you how excited I was that this was a continuation of the Percy Jackson series...LOVED IT! I was so excited I was able to re-immerse myself into the world of demigods at Camp Half-Blood. As an added pleasure I was introduced to many more fun and interesting characters. There were three in particular for the book's focus. First there is Piper, a beautiful daughter of Aphrodite who seems to be able to 'charm" her way through life. Then there is Leo, a pyromanic who is good with a tool. Last of the three, and certainly (in my opinion) the most important, is Jason, a demigod who has had his memory erased by a goddess. These three take on the role of the main characters. Through Riordan's wonderful story I was able to accompany these three on their many adventures. Through times of peril or comedic relief, most of the time I enjoyed the story thoroughly. The beginning started off with lots of action and immediately got me hooked. I will say I got bored at times through the middle when back story was needed for the overall story itself. I knew this book would not disappoint so I trudged on and I was NOT disappointed. I had many questions through this book and many of them were answered at the end. The ending of this book was amazing and did not disappoint. I highly recommend this book. It is a GREAT battle book choice! Let me know what you think!
                    • coolnicki477
                      coolnicki4777/30/2014
                      In the first book of the Heroes of Olympus series Jason Grace has his mind erased and went off to go training at Camp half-blood all he could remember was that Thalia Grace is his sister. Apparently his best friend was this guy named Leo and Piper McLean was his girlfriend as Piper is claimed as daughter of Aprodite and Leo is claimed as a child of Hepheastus Jason brings them along for the quest to stop Gaea and the army of giants. At the end Jason figures out he is Roman and learns he would have to make peace with an another camp for demigods that are... Roman.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Island of the Blue Dolphins
                      Smile
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      My Sister, the Creep (An Apple Paperback)
                      Charlotte's Web

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      maddyp18
                      maddyp18 wrote:

                      I loved this book so so so so so...
                      Smile

                      shrell4
                      shrell4 wrote:

                      I loved it I thought it was real...
                      Shake It Up!: Step by Step

                      shrell4
                      shrell4 wrote:

                      I think it is cool because it is...
                      Jessie New Nanny (Jessie Junior ...

                      coolnicki477

                      Its a fun twist on the real Cind...
                      Grimmtastic Girls #1: Cinderella...