Tales from Lovecraft Middle School #1: Professor Gargoyle

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.722260

“Two-headed monsters, giant tentacles, angry demons – Lovecraft Middle School is great creepy fun!”
–Ransom Riggs, author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Strange things are happening at Lovecraft Middle School. Rats are leaping from lockers. Students are disappearing. The school library is a labyrinth of secret corridors. And the science teacher is acting very peculiar – in fact, he just might be a monster-in-disguise. Twelve-year-old Robert Arthur knew that seventh grade was going to be weird, but this is ridiculous!

Professor Gargoyle (Volume I in the Tales from Lovecraft Middle School series) is full of bizarre beasts, strange mysteries, and nonstop adventure. It's perfect for readers ages 10 and up. Best of all, the cover features a state-of-the-art “morphing” photo portrait – so you can personally witness the professor transforming into a monster. You won't believe your eyes!

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on September 25, 2012 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594745919
ISBN-13: 9781594745911
131 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • readspeedster
    readspeedsterTuesday, July 19, 2016 at 11:22 am44 stars
    This book has a professor that is really a monster t and it is up to Robert, Glenn and Karina to find out what is going on in this creepy school that might be all turned into monters forever. This continues in the next book!
    • anagkan
      anagkanSunday, July 10, 2016 at 9:46 am44 stars
      In this book, Robert Arthur goes to the new school in town named Lovecraft Middle School. He then finds a "gate" that leads to Tillinghast Mansion in another dimension. He then makes friends with one of his worst enemies and a ghost. They learn that Professor Garfield Goyle (his science teacher) is actually a demon named Azaroth. they get chased through the mansion and finally escape to get back to their dimension. I would love to read the next books.
      • unicorn_rainbow
        unicorn_rainbowTuesday, July 5, 2016 at 9:18 am
        This was such a good book! It was a good, fast-read. I would recommend this book to anyone who is into portals and supernatural things. Great for over the summer reading!
        • zombiedude
          zombiedudeMonday, July 4, 2016 at 7:01 pm33 stars
          This book is cool because it is funny and it is a good read over the summer. I recommend this book to people who want to read about mean teachers.
          • wobblepenguin12
            wobblepenguin12Sunday, July 3, 2016 at 12:29 pm
            im not sure i really want this book but it doesnt seem so interesting but thanks to everyone who wrote reviews!!
            • awesomeguy2000
              awesomeguy2000Saturday, July 2, 2016 at 5:18 pm11 star
              I did not like this book and I don't recommend it. First of all, I don't really like horror books and etcetera and I obviously noticed it in the beginning and the only reason I read it was because my friends talked me into it. And also, it talks about a professor turning into a monster and all this scary stuff so personally, this is to me a 1 star.
              • sr05885
                sr05885Monday, June 27, 2016 at 6:51 pm55 stars
                This book was so creepy and I loved it.Strange things start happening in Robert's middle school.Then t hey find that their science professor might be a monster!Robert and his friends have to see if they can stop Mr.Gargoyle.
                • cerulian
                  cerulianMonday, June 20, 2016 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book because it was so exciting. Lovecraft Middle School is a new school where crazy things happen. Teacher's and student's bodies in the school have been taken over by demon like creatures and the new kid Robert is entangled in the middle of everything. This is a great story about how crazy middle school can be.
                  • zoieehotFriday, June 17, 2016 at 10:55 am
                    this is a cool book you should try it
                    • enderwiggin
                      enderwigginThursday, June 16, 2016 at 6:03 am
                      it looks pretty cool, i'll try to read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      bunnyzhang
                      bunnyzhang wrote:

                      This book is really good. It is ...
                      This Journal Belongs to Ratchet

                      scigirlronni

                      I love this book.One of my favor...
                      The Best of Roald Dahl Charlie a...

                      lucky13105
                      lucky13105 wrote:

                      This is the greatest book ever I...
                      The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson...