Tales from Lovecraft Middle School #1: Professor Gargoyle

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.722260

“Two-headed monsters, giant tentacles, angry demons – Lovecraft Middle School is great creepy fun!”
–Ransom Riggs, author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Strange things are happening at Lovecraft Middle School. Rats are leaping from lockers. Students are disappearing. The school library is a labyrinth of secret corridors. And the science teacher is acting very peculiar – in fact, he just might be a monster-in-disguise. Twelve-year-old Robert Arthur knew that seventh grade was going to be weird, but this is ridiculous!

Professor Gargoyle (Volume I in the Tales from Lovecraft Middle School series) is full of bizarre beasts, strange mysteries, and nonstop adventure. It's perfect for readers ages 10 and up. Best of all, the cover features a state-of-the-art “morphing” photo portrait – so you can personally witness the professor transforming into a monster. You won't believe your eyes!

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on September 25, 2012 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594745919
ISBN-13: 9781594745911
125 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • sr05885
    sr05885Monday, June 27, 2016 at 6:51 pm55 stars
    This book was so creepy and I loved it.Strange things start happening in Robert's middle school.Then t hey find that their science professor might be a monster!Robert and his friends have to see if they can stop Mr.Gargoyle.
    • cerulian
      cerulianMonday, June 20, 2016 at 2:53 pm55 stars
      I loved this book because it was so exciting. Lovecraft Middle School is a new school where crazy things happen. Teacher's and student's bodies in the school have been taken over by demon like creatures and the new kid Robert is entangled in the middle of everything. This is a great story about how crazy middle school can be.
      • zoieehotFriday, June 17, 2016 at 10:55 am
        this is a cool book you should try it
        • enderwiggin
          enderwigginThursday, June 16, 2016 at 6:03 am
          it looks pretty cool, i'll try to read it.
          • rycraft
            rycraftThursday, June 16, 2016 at 12:38 am
            this looks exiting
            • genius1326
              genius1326Wednesday, June 15, 2016 at 9:35 am55 stars
              It was really interesting and fun. It had a very intriguing theme, with theories of distant lands, ghosts, and other monsters and worlds. It was about how a new school was built out of the remains of an old mansion, and it was told that the mansion was haunted. The mansion had odd experiments going on inside, with a mad scientist at work creating monsters. A new student, Robert, and his two new friends discover that their science teacher is a monster, and they must stop him. Can they?
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderFriday, June 10, 2016 at 7:34 am55 stars
                This book was really good. There are plot twist just about every other chapter. I would like the second book in the Lovecraft Middle School series. This book was the first. It is funny, intense, and more. I couldn't put the book down.
                • waterlily1255
                  waterlily1255Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at 3:48 am33 stars
                  This book looks great, not a fan of the cover though. The book itself is great. It isn't to much drama and will give you a chuckle without lots of humor.
                  • swirlycool
                    swirlycoolTuesday, June 7, 2016 at 6:42 pm44 stars
                    This book is about a school that is weird, but things happen that are too ridiculous. Rats, yikes I hate rats. But is more. There are demons and giants, too. The cover made me laugh. If you don't like creepy things, or get creeped out easily don't read this book. You can if you want to, but it would be better for you not to. For me, this was kind of creepy, but great!
                    • funnycandy
                      funnycandySunday, May 29, 2016 at 10:41 am
                      I liked the book too but a bit scary

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      strawberry1234

                      This book is about friendships a...
                      The BFG

                      Firestar_247 wrote:

                      Awesome, defiantly my fave Origa...
                      Princess Labelmaker to the Rescu...

                      Lisbet wrote:

                      it is a great book!😊😊
                      iCarly iCreate My World Online [...

                      yellow43528

                      This is awesome! I love the book...
                      Hidden Oracle