Tales from Lovecraft Middle School #1: Professor Gargoyle

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.722260

“Two-headed monsters, giant tentacles, angry demons – Lovecraft Middle School is great creepy fun!”
–Ransom Riggs, author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Strange things are happening at Lovecraft Middle School. Rats are leaping from lockers. Students are disappearing. The school library is a labyrinth of secret corridors. And the science teacher is acting very peculiar – in fact, he just might be a monster-in-disguise. Twelve-year-old Robert Arthur knew that seventh grade was going to be weird, but this is ridiculous!

Professor Gargoyle (Volume I in the Tales from Lovecraft Middle School series) is full of bizarre beasts, strange mysteries, and nonstop adventure. It's perfect for readers ages 10 and up. Best of all, the cover features a state-of-the-art “morphing” photo portrait – so you can personally witness the professor transforming into a monster. You won't believe your eyes!

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on September 25, 2012 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594745919
ISBN-13: 9781594745911
135 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • memoiloveit
    memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 6:54 am55 stars
    This is a great book. I loved everything about it. Everyone should like this book because it has creative characters, mystery, and adventure, although it went by quickly.
    • mayhem
      mayhemTuesday, August 9, 2016 at 12:51 am55 stars
      really good book. i love every single bit of it. i rate this book 5/5 stars. rated for eveyone. noone should not like this book.
      • strawberry1234
        strawberry1234Monday, August 8, 2016 at 12:46 pm44 stars
        I kinda of liked this book it was not that fun but i enjoyed it it was not something i wanted to read. if you want to read it you can
        • coreycole
          coreycoleTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 11:40 am44 stars
          my dad has another bok i thought was like this its a love craft stories too but he wont let me read it. i really liked this book it reminded me of the old principal at my school maybe thats why they left is soeone found out they were a gargoyal too. they are real and they are out there
          • readspeedster
            readspeedsterTuesday, July 19, 2016 at 11:22 am44 stars
            This book has a professor that is really a monster t and it is up to Robert, Glenn and Karina to find out what is going on in this creepy school that might be all turned into monters forever. This continues in the next book!
            • anagkan
              anagkanSunday, July 10, 2016 at 9:46 am44 stars
              In this book, Robert Arthur goes to the new school in town named Lovecraft Middle School. He then finds a "gate" that leads to Tillinghast Mansion in another dimension. He then makes friends with one of his worst enemies and a ghost. They learn that Professor Garfield Goyle (his science teacher) is actually a demon named Azaroth. they get chased through the mansion and finally escape to get back to their dimension. I would love to read the next books.
              • unicorn_rainbow
                unicorn_rainbowTuesday, July 5, 2016 at 9:18 am
                This was such a good book! It was a good, fast-read. I would recommend this book to anyone who is into portals and supernatural things. Great for over the summer reading!
                • zombiedude
                  zombiedudeMonday, July 4, 2016 at 7:01 pm33 stars
                  This book is cool because it is funny and it is a good read over the summer. I recommend this book to people who want to read about mean teachers.
                  • wobblepenguin12
                    wobblepenguin12Sunday, July 3, 2016 at 12:29 pm
                    im not sure i really want this book but it doesnt seem so interesting but thanks to everyone who wrote reviews!!
                    • awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000Saturday, July 2, 2016 at 5:18 pm11 star
                      I did not like this book and I don't recommend it. First of all, I don't really like horror books and etcetera and I obviously noticed it in the beginning and the only reason I read it was because my friends talked me into it. And also, it talks about a professor turning into a monster and all this scary stuff so personally, this is to me a 1 star.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sanu
                      sanu wrote:

                      Outside a boy was looking out th...
                      The View from Saturday

                      sophiamiz
                      sophiamiz wrote:

                      i want to read this book because...
                      The Hot List

                      sophiamiz
                      sophiamiz wrote:

                      i want to read this book because...
                      Surviving Middle School: Navigat...

                      al-oha
                      al-oha wrote:

                      Haven't read this book yet sadly...
                      Harry Potter and the Cursed Chil...