North of Nowhere Buy Book
Click to Rate

North of Nowhere

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 2 - 3n/an/an/a
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Emily Windsnap series comes a captivating adventure about family, friendship, and the bonds that bridge time.

The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery: Mia’s grandad has vanished, and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mom rush to Porthaven to help her grandmother, Mia imagines long dreary days with no one to talk to except for the old-time fisherman at her grandparents’ pub. But that’s before Mia finds a diary on an empty, docked fishing boat and starts exchanging notes with a local girl named Dee, a girl who seems much like her. Mia is excited about having a new friend, but why do their plans to meet each other never materialize? And why does Dee claim to be stuck at home due to violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? Will Mia be able to solve the mystery of where — and when — her grandfather and friend might be before time and tide forever wash away their futures?
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on January 24, 2013 by Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN-10: 1444001531
ISBN-13: 9781444001532
26 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cece10678
    cece10678Thursday, March 26, 2015 at 3:07 pm
    i want to read this book sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo badly
    • cece10678Thursday, March 26, 2015 at 3:05 pm
      i want to read this sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad
      • sparkelMonday, February 2, 2015 at 3:28 pm
        that book was amazing i loved it my sister loved it too i think the book is cool and great so i spent my money on the movie i just cant stop thinking about that book because its fresh and exciting so now i am saying this is the best book and movie iv'e ever read and seen!!
        • candyexpress
          candyexpressMonday, January 26, 2015 at 6:06 pm55 starsFeatured
          I must thank DOGO Books for sending me this book. This was a very exciting book. It isn't a straightforward sappy story. It has an intricate plot with lots of unexpected twists and turns. That's what always makes a book great!
          • cooleli
            cooleliMonday, January 26, 2015 at 3:59 pm
            I have been trying to get my sister to read this book because it rocks!
            • spinnypeeps
              spinnypeepsSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 12:27 pm44 stars
              This was the most confusing book I've ever read. But that's not a bad thing! Time travel always does that to me. It always makes me wonder, how can the present affect the past, yet the future can affect the present and the past affect the future? If you're ready for confusing surprises, read this book... You might just wonder if your best friend is actually your grandmother!
              • happyface221
                happyface221Sunday, September 14, 2014 at 8:29 pm
                I really want to read this
                • bibliophile
                  bibliophileWednesday, August 27, 2014 at 6:08 pmFeatured
                  I thought this book was fresh and an exciting read. I want to say thank you DOGO for sending me this amazing book. A long time ago I read another book by Liz Kessler called A Year Without Autumn... I thought they both connected and related in some way...which I think Liz Kessler has a talented way for writing about fantasy, adventures, and time traveling of course. It's about a girl named Amelia, but she likes it Mia... she finds out her Grandad is missing, but at the same time she meets Dee (by a private diary), who talks about harsh weather in her island. But Mia doesn't see any storms at all! She meets another friend named Peter who disappeared, and her (Peter's) sister, Sal, is nervous about finding Peter, but is now friends with Mia. Later they uncover the secret meaning of truth and what happened to Luffsands. With help by a unique compass that plays a significant role in the story. Also in different chapters they're different perspectives, that gives you more of the details. Will they uncover the secret, that hid the truth about their family? Will they find Mia's Grandad and Peter? It's up to you to read and find out. Also one more thing after you read this amazing book, North of Nowhere, and if you enjoy it, you might want to read A Year Without Autumn. I'm just telling you both stories had a signifiant plot, character, fantasy, and time traveling... you should READ IT!!!!!
                  • spinnypeeps
                    spinnypeepsThursday, August 28, 2014 at 12:20 pm44 stars
                    It's by Liz Kessler? No worries, I didn't read it, but I already love it! I Already read the Emily Windsnap series
                  • lauraar
                    lauraarSunday, August 17, 2014 at 12:55 pm
                    looks scary cant belive it was my pprize
                    • csheen
                      csheenWednesday, June 11, 2014 at 4:15 pm
                      How long is it?

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This is an awesome science-ficti...
                      Above World

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This is a great book. It's about...
                      Kingdom Keepers: The Return Book...

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This book is incredible! It's ab...
                      Book of the Dead (TombQuest)

                      08sh
                      08sh wrote:

                      I just can't Wait to read it. I ...
                      Heroes of Olympus, The, Book Two...