North of Nowhere
Click to Rate

North of Nowhere

By Liz Kessler
8 ratings21 reviews38 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Emily Windsnap series comes a captivating adventure about family, friendship, and the bonds that bridge time.

The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery: Mia’s grandad has vanished, and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mom rush to Porthaven to help her grandmother, Mia imagines long dreary days with no one to talk to except for the old-time fisherman at her grandparents’ pub. But that’s before Mia finds a diary on an empty, docked fishing boat and starts exchanging notes with a local girl named Dee, a girl who seems much like her. Mia is excited about having a new friend, but why do their plans to meet each other never materialize? And why does Dee claim to be stuck at home due to violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? Will Mia be able to solve the mystery of where — and when — her grandfather and friend might be before time and tide forever wash away their futures?
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on January 24, 2013 by Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN-10: 1444001531
ISBN-13: 9781444001532
21 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • happyface221
    happyface221Sunday, September 14, 2014 at 8:29 pm
    I really want to read this
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileWednesday, August 27, 2014 at 6:08 pm
      I thought this book was fresh and an exciting read. I want to say thank you DOGO for sending me this amazing book. A long time ago I read another book by Liz Kessler called A Year Without Autumn... I thought they both connected and related in some way...which I think Liz Kessler has a talented way for writing about fantasy, adventures, and time traveling of course. It's about a girl named Amelia, but she likes it Mia... she finds out her Grandad is missing, but at the same time she meets Dee (by a private diary), who talks about harsh weather in her island. But Mia doesn't see any storms at all! She meets another friend named Peter who disappeared, and her (Peter's) sister, Sal, is nervous about finding Peter, but is now friends with Mia. Later they uncover the secret meaning of truth and what happened to Luffsands. With help by a unique compass that plays a significant role in the story. Also in different chapters they're different perspectives, that gives you more of the details. Will they uncover the secret, that hid the truth about their family? Will they find Mia's Grandad and Peter? It's up to you to read and find out. Also one more thing after you read this amazing book, North of Nowhere, and if you enjoy it, you might want to read A Year Without Autumn. I'm just telling you both stories had a signifiant plot, character, fantasy, and time traveling... you should READ IT!!!!!
      • spinnypeeps
        spinnypeepsThursday, August 28, 2014 at 12:20 pm
        It's by Liz Kessler? No worries, I didn't read it, but I already love it! I Already read the Emily Windsnap series
      • lauraar
        lauraarSunday, August 17, 2014 at 12:55 pm
        looks scary cant belive it was my pprize
        • csheen
          csheenWednesday, June 11, 2014 at 4:15 pm
          How long is it?
          • charis12
            charis12Saturday, March 22, 2014 at 12:14 pm
            This is a great book that includes mystery, adventure, and even time travel! This is a must read!
            • ikyra_marie
              ikyra_marieSunday, February 9, 2014 at 7:27 pm
              is there a movie gap430?
              • gap430
                gap430Sunday, February 9, 2014 at 2:59 pm
                wanna watch this so bad
                • dutchessmarian1
                  dutchessmarian1Thursday, January 9, 2014 at 9:05 pm5 stars
                  This is a extremely good book.It all seams normal till the last few chapters when it hits you what has actually read through out the book. Mia(Amelia) finds this diary written by D(how she signed the end page)and later meets a boy named Peter who all end up being someone else at the end. It is a perfectly written mystery story I would recommend this book for kids of all ages.
                  • tpwatermelon
                    tpwatermelonThursday, November 14, 2013 at 7:34 am
                    My sister received this book from the Summer Reading Club. At first I thought it was going to be another boring girl book, but it was really suspenseful and a book even I couldn't put down. Thanks from both of us for sending it!
                    • Crazy awesome12Sunday, September 29, 2013 at 4:00 pm
                      North to go!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Magic in the Mix

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      gowiththeflow

                      Lots of magic
                      Bliss

                      Faizan wrote:

                      The book was good, but the nerd ...
                      Middle School Nerd Avengers: Ris...

                      Faizan wrote:

                      the book nerd avengers was reall...
                      Middle School Nerd Avengers: Ris...