North of Nowhere
Click to Rate

North of Nowhere

By Liz Kessler
8 ratings17 reviews34 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Emily Windsnap series comes a captivating adventure about family, friendship, and the bonds that bridge time.

The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery: Mia’s grandad has vanished, and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mom rush to Porthaven to help her grandmother, Mia imagines long dreary days with no one to talk to except for the old-time fisherman at her grandparents’ pub. But that’s before Mia finds a diary on an empty, docked fishing boat and starts exchanging notes with a local girl named Dee, a girl who seems much like her. Mia is excited about having a new friend, but why do their plans to meet each other never materialize? And why does Dee claim to be stuck at home due to violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? Will Mia be able to solve the mystery of where — and when — her grandfather and friend might be before time and tide forever wash away their futures?
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on January 24, 2013 by Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN-10: 1444001531
ISBN-13: 9781444001532
17 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • csheen
    csheen6/11/2014
    How long is it?
    • charis12
      charis123/22/2014
      This is a great book that includes mystery, adventure, and even time travel! This is a must read!
      • ikyra_marie
        ikyra_marie2/9/2014
        is there a movie gap430?
        • gap430
          gap4302/9/2014
          wanna watch this so bad
          • dutchessmarian1
            dutchessmarian11/9/20145 stars
            This is a extremely good book.It all seams normal till the last few chapters when it hits you what has actually read through out the book. Mia(Amelia) finds this diary written by D(how she signed the end page)and later meets a boy named Peter who all end up being someone else at the end. It is a perfectly written mystery story I would recommend this book for kids of all ages.
            • tpwatermelon
              tpwatermelon11/14/2013
              My sister received this book from the Summer Reading Club. At first I thought it was going to be another boring girl book, but it was really suspenseful and a book even I couldn't put down. Thanks from both of us for sending it!
              • Crazy awesome129/29/2013
                North to go!
                • maxmoe23
                  maxmoe239/10/2013
                  I love Liz Kessler, read all her other books!
                  • missmonkey27
                    missmonkey279/3/2013
                    I love this author....... If only I could win this book
                    • gauraiya
                      gauraiya8/31/2013
                      Really want to read it

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Charlotte's Web
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Dying to Meet You (43 Old Cemetery Road)
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      The Giver (Cascades)
                      This Is Not My Hat

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      kpis11

                      the book is better
                      ParaNorman: A Novel

                      coolnicki477

                      I'll follow anyone who follows me!
                      Percy Jackson and the Olympians ...

                      jwacko
                      jwacko wrote:

                      don't like it anymore =(
                      Minecraft: Essential Handbook