Island of the Blue Dolphins
Click to Rate

Island of the Blue Dolphins

By Scott O'Dell
73 ratings86 reviews96 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
86 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • queenmaryg
    queenmaryg9/10/2014
    I had to read this book for a report last year. This a very descriptive and well written book. My favorite character in the book is Karana mostly because of how brave and courageous she is. It also shows some hints of Native American cultures and traditions. This book is sad but apart from that its a great book and one of my favorites.
    • bookworm1824
      bookworm18249/8/20145 stars
      I literally (spoiler alert) sobbed when her brother was killed by the wild dogs!
      • alondra_01
        alondra_018/24/20145 stars
        I love this book. It is about a young native american girl living on an island 70 miles off the shore of southern Ca. Her village soon decides to leave the island, but Karana ( the young girl ) is left behind. Anyways, I really recommend this book for everyone!
        • sarac
          sarac8/20/20145 stars
          island of the blue dolphins was a grerat book. it showes servivel and freindship. theres a young gril named krana ad she 18 years has to survive alone with a wild dog its a great book
          • char12348/4/2014
            I loved this book! Dogs and people make the best friends!
            • Sammy7/30/2014
              I think it was a great book not at all sad u all should read it
              • ikyra_marie
                ikyra_marie7/30/2014
                This book was really sad but really well written
                • sneeches
                  sneeches7/30/20145 stars
                  The book is about a girl named Karana who was left behind by the other people of her tribe when they were sailing to another country. Karana lived all by herself on the island with dogs, birds, foxes and sea otters. At last, after many years, some white men finally came to take her to where the rest of her tribe was going. I think it was a great book. I would like to be just like Karana to live by myself.
                  • sala9289
                    sala92896/10/20144 stars
                    I read this book because it sounded like a good book when i read the back of it. i enjoyed this book a lot it has a lot of adventure and fun moments.
                    • Dancer12/2/2013
                      I love this book!!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Fahrenheit 451
                      Smile
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      The Graham Cracker Plot
                      Smile
                      Fahrenheit 451