Island of the Blue Dolphins

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
157 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • katniss75
    katniss75Friday, June 17, 2016 at 8:50 am22 stars
    same with other ibd book review
    • katniss75
      katniss75Friday, June 17, 2016 at 8:48 am22 stars
      It was ok i guess. All that was going on was. "I want water," so she goes to get water then, "I want food," so she gets food and says, "I want more water to wash it all down," and the cycle repeats.
      • gn10ac67cl98
        gn10ac67cl98Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 1:10 pm
        I've read this book and it is awesome!
        • dolphinlover7
          dolphinlover7Wednesday, May 18, 2016 at 5:29 pm
          I think this book is good because I love dolphins. #DOLPHINLOVER7
          • cimmie
            cimmieWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 4:34 pm55 stars
            gripping story about a young woman survives in a deserted island all by her lonesome. beautiful, beautiful book
            • coolgirllover
              coolgirlloverTuesday, May 17, 2016 at 10:16 am
              hi i think this book is good
              • fiestykitten05
                fiestykitten05Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 7:52 am55 stars
                this book was awesome i could read it over and over again. i wish rountu was my dog #rountulover
                • suluca
                  sulucaMonday, January 25, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
                  AMAZING! The main character Karana is brave, hardworking, and determined to survive. She never lost hope that the ship would come someday. She even survived the wild dogs that threatened her.
                  • tawells
                    tawellsMonday, January 25, 2016 at 7:00 am
                    I loved this book. I decided to read it again because it was a real story that happened. The only thing different were a couple of peoples name
                    • OMG BANANASSunday, January 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm
                      This was a book we read as our 6th grade read a loud book. It wasn't as emotional as some people say, but there were some parts that were SO SAD! The story is a cookie-cutter survival story. A girl and here brother get abandoned. (Kind of.) The bro dies from a wild dog. The girl has to survive. Someone rescues her. OMG! It wasn't special at all! It was just another one of those stories where someone gets stranded and rescued. Yuck! Two stars for me.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      strawberry1234

                      i really like this book i am rea...
                      Rescued

                      strawberry1234

                      this is a funny book there were ...
                      Low Riders in Space (Book 1)

                      strawberry1234

                      This book is kinda of like James...
                      The Red Shoes and Other Tales

                      strawberry1234

                      I like this book it was cool it ...
                      Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical ...