Island of the Blue Dolphins Buy Book
Click to Rate

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
155 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • gn10ac67cl98
    gn10ac67cl98Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 1:10 pm
    I've read this book and it is awesome!
    • dolphinlover7
      dolphinlover7Wednesday, May 18, 2016 at 5:29 pm
      I think this book is good because I love dolphins. #DOLPHINLOVER7
      • cimmie
        cimmieWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 4:34 pm55 stars
        gripping story about a young woman survives in a deserted island all by her lonesome. beautiful, beautiful book
        • coolgirllover
          coolgirlloverTuesday, May 17, 2016 at 10:16 am
          hi i think this book is good
          • fiestykitten05
            fiestykitten05Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 7:52 am55 stars
            this book was awesome i could read it over and over again. i wish rountu was my dog #rountulover
            • suluca
              sulucaMonday, January 25, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
              AMAZING! The main character Karana is brave, hardworking, and determined to survive. She never lost hope that the ship would come someday. She even survived the wild dogs that threatened her.
              • tawells
                tawellsMonday, January 25, 2016 at 7:00 am
                I loved this book. I decided to read it again because it was a real story that happened. The only thing different were a couple of peoples name
                • OMG BANANASSunday, January 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm
                  This was a book we read as our 6th grade read a loud book. It wasn't as emotional as some people say, but there were some parts that were SO SAD! The story is a cookie-cutter survival story. A girl and here brother get abandoned. (Kind of.) The bro dies from a wild dog. The girl has to survive. Someone rescues her. OMG! It wasn't special at all! It was just another one of those stories where someone gets stranded and rescued. Yuck! Two stars for me.
                  • mathrocks9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
                    It is very emotional and has a lot of different moments. I also recommend this book because it is very emotional. This book is also very teaching, it tells you lessons for when you grow up.
                    • lebron james23 Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
                      After reading Island of the Blue Dolphins, I would recommend it to a friend for these reasons. It is a historical story. It has a lot of adventures. In this book there is lot of life lessons to be learned. The author Scott O'Dell used a lot of details, so that helped me visualize the picture.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hermione14
                      hermione14 wrote:

                      Awesome! Love the Pics. The note...
                      The Tales of Beedle the Bard, St...

                      hermione14
                      hermione14 wrote:

                      I haven't read it but, I've read...
                      The Lightning Fart: A Parody of ...

                      bruin12
                      bruin12 wrote:

                      I appreciate the philosophical a...
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...