Island of the Blue Dolphins
Click to Rate

Island of the Blue Dolphins

By Scott O'Dell
78 ratings90 reviews99 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
90 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • edmodo-svvgrj46be
    edmodo-svvgrj46beMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:17 pm5 stars
    This book is great. It is filled with love. A lot awful and great things happen there. This girl looses her family. Now she lives alone in a island far away from everything. She finds a pet and a friend from the enemies. She has a loving heart.
    • kell-bell
      kell-bellSunday, September 28, 2014 at 2:48 pm5 stars
      If you haven't read the book yet don't read the comments below!!
      • kell-bell
        kell-bellSunday, September 28, 2014 at 2:47 pm5 stars
        it was so sad because her brother and all her tribe died. she found a loyal companion who was the best dog in the world. She survived.
        • ezmar3112
          ezmar3112Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 6:26 am
          I had to read this book for an essay i had to do last year. I read this book about 3 more times after. It was really a book that i enjoyed from front cover to back cover.
          • 5td
            Terra Lea DennisSunday, September 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm4 stars
            I love the author's perspective in this book. It is realistic fiction, based on a real nonfiction story of a young woman surviving on her own. So descriptive I could SEE everything she experienced.
            • queenmaryg
              queenmarygWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 10:52 am
              I had to read this book for a report last year. This a very descriptive and well written book. My favorite character in the book is Karana mostly because of how brave and courageous she is. It also shows some hints of Native American cultures and traditions. This book is sad but apart from that its a great book and one of my favorites.
              • bookworm1824
                bookworm1824Monday, September 8, 2014 at 5:57 pm5 stars
                I literally (spoiler alert) sobbed when her brother was killed by the wild dogs!
                • alondra_01
                  alondra_01Sunday, August 24, 2014 at 12:14 pm5 stars
                  I love this book. It is about a young native american girl living on an island 70 miles off the shore of southern Ca. Her village soon decides to leave the island, but Karana ( the young girl ) is left behind. Anyways, I really recommend this book for everyone!
                  • sarac
                    saracWednesday, August 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm5 stars
                    island of the blue dolphins was a grerat book. it showes servivel and freindship. theres a young gril named krana ad she 18 years has to survive alone with a wild dog its a great book
                    • char1234Monday, August 4, 2014 at 2:44 pm
                      I loved this book! Dogs and people make the best friends!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Wonder
                      Smile
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      charlottem3149

                      I put this book on my Christmas ...
                      Dork Diaries 8

                      mlpfan8
                      mlpfan8 wrote:

                      Sooooooooo good!!! I LOVE Daisy ...
                      Rainbow Magic Special Edition: S...

                      mlpfan8
                      mlpfan8 wrote:

                      I love reading too!!!
                      Rainbow Magic Special Edition: S...

                      bibliophile

                      This book was AMAZING! I think e...
                      TodHunter Moon, Book One: PathFi...