Island of the Blue Dolphins
Click to Rate

Island of the Blue Dolphins

By Scott O'Dell
83 ratings94 reviews100 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
94 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • soda-popcat100
    soda-popcat100Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 5:42 pm5 stars
    my favorite book of all time where a girl gets left on a island by her Indian tribe and has to survive coyotes, tital-waves,and sea creatures.
    • peeps
      peepsThursday, January 8, 2015 at 4:24 am
      soooooo good!
      • xfirehawk
        xfirehawkFriday, January 2, 2015 at 8:45 am5 stars
        This was a great book that my class read together.If you're interested in indians and survival this book is for you!
        • zweetheart55
          zweetheart55Saturday, December 13, 2014 at 2:55 pm2 stars
          the book was a little slow going at first
          • edmodo-svvgrj46be
            edmodo-svvgrj46beMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:17 pm5 stars
            This book is great. It is filled with love. A lot awful and great things happen there. This girl looses her family. Now she lives alone in a island far away from everything. She finds a pet and a friend from the enemies. She has a loving heart.
            • kell-bell
              kell-bellSunday, September 28, 2014 at 2:48 pm5 stars
              If you haven't read the book yet don't read the comments below!!
              • kell-bell
                kell-bellSunday, September 28, 2014 at 2:47 pm5 stars
                it was so sad because her brother and all her tribe died. she found a loyal companion who was the best dog in the world. She survived.
                • ezmar3112
                  ezmar3112Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 6:26 am
                  I had to read this book for an essay i had to do last year. I read this book about 3 more times after. It was really a book that i enjoyed from front cover to back cover.
                  • 5td
                    Terra Lea DennisSunday, September 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm4 stars
                    I love the author's perspective in this book. It is realistic fiction, based on a real nonfiction story of a young woman surviving on her own. So descriptive I could SEE everything she experienced.
                    • queenmaryg
                      queenmarygWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 10:52 am
                      I had to read this book for a report last year. This a very descriptive and well written book. My favorite character in the book is Karana mostly because of how brave and courageous she is. It also shows some hints of Native American cultures and traditions. This book is sad but apart from that its a great book and one of my favorites.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Wonder
                      Smile
                      The Hunger Games
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Wonder
                      A Plague of Unicorns

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      brendam
                      brendam wrote:

                      is like a picture book but its i...
                      Wonderstruck

                      AK wrote:

                      My teacher read me this in 4th g...
                      Out of My Mind

                      AK wrote:

                      This another one of my favorite ...
                      If I Stay

                      AK wrote:

                      This book is one that makes you ...
                      The Fault in Our Stars Parody: T...