Island of the Blue Dolphins Buy Book
Click to Rate

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
150 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • suluca
    sulucaMonday, January 25, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
    AMAZING! The main character Karana is brave, hardworking, and determined to survive. She never lost hope that the ship would come someday. She even survived the wild dogs that threatened her.
    • tawells
      tawellsMonday, January 25, 2016 at 7:00 am
      I loved this book. I decided to read it again because it was a real story that happened. The only thing different were a couple of peoples name
      • OMG BANANASSunday, January 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm
        This was a book we read as our 6th grade read a loud book. It wasn't as emotional as some people say, but there were some parts that were SO SAD! The story is a cookie-cutter survival story. A girl and here brother get abandoned. (Kind of.) The bro dies from a wild dog. The girl has to survive. Someone rescues her. OMG! It wasn't special at all! It was just another one of those stories where someone gets stranded and rescued. Yuck! Two stars for me.
        • mathrocks9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
          It is very emotional and has a lot of different moments. I also recommend this book because it is very emotional. This book is also very teaching, it tells you lessons for when you grow up.
          • lebron james23 Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
            After reading Island of the Blue Dolphins, I would recommend it to a friend for these reasons. It is a historical story. It has a lot of adventures. In this book there is lot of life lessons to be learned. The author Scott O'Dell used a lot of details, so that helped me visualize the picture.
            • cama llama 9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
              After reading Island of the Blue I would recommend it to a friend for the following reasons. One reason is that it is a historical story. Two it is really easy to visualize due to Scott O'Dell's great describing sentences. Another reason is that it won the Newbery Medal. A fourth reason is it is voted the best kid book for the past 200 years. It is also devastatin, refreshing, and uplifiting all at the same time.
              • sophiJEMSTAR9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
                I think that after reading the book: Island of the Blue Dolphins I would recommend this book to anyone. It is a good survival tale of adventure. It has awesome events that make you want to keep reading.
                • JeffJeff9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:05 pm
                  I would recommend this book to anyone who will ask for a recommended book. One of the best books I have ever read and I will read it again any day. Also one of the best authors ever. Thanks Scott O'dell.
                  • Bridgepower9Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:04 pm
                    After reading Island of the Blue Dolphins I would recommend it because it has adventure, action, and excitement, it really touches you at some parts of the story, and you would not want to put it down.
                    • bocchinor1409Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 2:04 pm
                      I would recommend this to a friend because of the thrilling, chilling, and sad parts. If your friend is a survivalist, they would like this book too.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      maggies20
                      maggies20 wrote:

                      The Here and Now is a truly epic...
                      The Here and Now

                      maggies20
                      maggies20 wrote:

                      Only Ever Years is a story about...
                      Only Ever Yours

                      karais20
                      karais20 wrote:

                      It was so cool. my teacher said ...
                      Smile