How to Steal a Dog Buy Book
Click to Rate

How to Steal a Dog

Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4T4.034585
Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don’t do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you’re in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.
 
Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is “borrow” the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.
 
With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O’Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what’s right when everything else seems wrong.
 
How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
48 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mustache12
    mustache12Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 10:38 am55 stars
    this is a great book ..................it is very funny and awesome
    • jazzy 1234Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 9:34 am
      I love this book it is the best.
      • K8Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 7:39 am
        It was totally hilarious and kind of sad I think it was a 4 star book
        • smothie
          smothieMonday, March 23, 2015 at 10:02 pm55 stars
          this book is really fun for kids who like dogs i really recommend getting this book st the library!!!have fun reading this book!!!
          • shaner2002
            shaner2002Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 7:28 am44 stars
            I really like it. This is a really good author.
            • soso4613
              soso4613Sunday, February 8, 2015 at 9:18 pm44 stars
              This book is a great lesson for kids to respect what there parents give them, and just to be greatfull. Over all this book is great a recomend it to ages 10-18
              • trinityp
                trinitypTuesday, November 18, 2014 at 7:21 am55 starsFeatured
                this book has a mix about two feelings sad,happy,mad,even jealousy i love this book i recommend this book because it shows how a little girl and her little brother do something really bad because they think it will help them but at the end they find out it won't help them at all she finds out that she does the right thing that's when a miracle happened once she did the right thing her family moved into a house i think the moral of this story is always do the right thing and something good will happen even if nothing happens just be thankful for what you have.
                • gladisa
                  gladisaTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 9:05 am
                  I think that this book is cool because it haze bogs and funny things. I like we a story is like this I just love it it makes my happy. Like some times you want to know that what is go to happened. I love wen the story is cool and nice but some story's or Sade or mean.
                  • naenae2003
                    naenae2003Thursday, February 13, 2014 at 2:34 pm
                    It is great so far I'm working on reading it!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • andrew1205
                      andrew1205Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 1:50 pm
                      Book review for how to steal a dog After Georgina, her mother, and her younger brother Toby find themselves without a place to stay because of her father throwing them onto the streets, they live in a van that they drive around town. Georgina decides to take matters into her own hands. She decides to steal a dog, then once the owner puts up a reward for the dog, give it back and take the money. This book is, "How to steal a dog," by Barbara O' Connor. This is a realistic fiction book that I chose because of the eye-catching title. My favorite passage in this book is her first list of instruction of how to steal a dog; How to Steal a Dog by Georgina Haynes Step 1: Find a Dog I like this passage because it begins her many steps of how to steal a dog. I connect to this book because I also have sympathy for dogs just as Georgina does. One exciting part of this book was when she found the perfect dog to steal. She pets the dog, and observes it in awe of how perfect it was. I recommend this book because of the clever storyline and epic plot twists. Read this book!

                      Popular Books This Week

                      Wonder
                      Sisters
                      Smile
                      The Adventures of Captain Underpants
                      National Geographic Kids Almanac 2016
                      Wonder
                      Sisters

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      candyexpress

                      This book is about a girl named ...
                      Three Times Lucky

                      genius1326
                      genius1326 wrote:

                      Do they have lego people in them...
                      LEGO Star Wars in 100 Scenes

                      genius1326
                      genius1326 wrote:

                      This is a book about Lockwood an...
                      Lockwood & Co. The Screaming Sta...

                      genius1326
                      genius1326 wrote:

                      This is a story about two fourth...
                      The Adventures of Captain Underp...