How to Steal a Dog
Click to Rate

How to Steal a Dog

By Barbara O'Connor
48 ratings42 reviews72 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4T4.034585
Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don’t do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you’re in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.
 
Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is “borrow” the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.
 
With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O’Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what’s right when everything else seems wrong.
 
How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
42 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • gladisa
    gladisa5/13/2014
    I think that this book is cool because it haze bogs and funny things. I like we a story is like this I just love it it makes my happy. Like some times you want to know that what is go to happened. I love wen the story is cool and nice but some story's or Sade or mean.
    • audreyz1234
      audreyz12344/6/2014
      i like it
      • naenae2003
        naenae20032/13/2014
        It is great so far I'm working on reading it!!!!!!!!!!!
        • andrew1205
          andrew120510/23/2013
          Book review for how to steal a dog After Georgina, her mother, and her younger brother Toby find themselves without a place to stay because of her father throwing them onto the streets, they live in a van that they drive around town. Georgina decides to take matters into her own hands. She decides to steal a dog, then once the owner puts up a reward for the dog, give it back and take the money. This book is, "How to steal a dog," by Barbara O' Connor. This is a realistic fiction book that I chose because of the eye-catching title. My favorite passage in this book is her first list of instruction of how to steal a dog; How to Steal a Dog by Georgina Haynes Step 1: Find a Dog I like this passage because it begins her many steps of how to steal a dog. I connect to this book because I also have sympathy for dogs just as Georgina does. One exciting part of this book was when she found the perfect dog to steal. She pets the dog, and observes it in awe of how perfect it was. I recommend this book because of the clever storyline and epic plot twists. Read this book!
          • vflor
            vflor10/16/2013
            Georgina Hayes father left and only left them with a little bit of money and they got kicked out of there apartment.There other is trying to get a nice home for them and one time she does but the next day the door says KEEP OUT PRIVATE PROPERTY!!!!!!So Georgina steals a dog because she knows it will have a $500 dollar reward.Read to find out what Georgina will do this book is so awesome and sad.
            • sujin
              sujin4/22/2013
              looks cute!
              • 20abutler
                20abutler12/11/20125 stars
                I really loved this book! This book is about a girl named Georgina Hayes. Ever since her father left and they were kicked out of their apartment, they have lived in a car. The mother is trying to get enough money to find a place to live. Georgia sees a missing dog poster and a reward for 500 dollars, she gets an idea, she will "borrow" a dog. This book is amazing I really recommend it.
                • macandcheese
                  macandcheese11/10/20124 stars
                  I read this book last year in school and it was pretty good
                  • kittenlover123
                    kittenlover12310/22/20125 stars
                    such a great book
                    • starjumper
                      starjumper10/19/20124 stars
                      This book is super, super, super sad! This book has a loving dog, a family that lives in a car, and...well... a bike riding, three fingered hobo

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Island of the Blue Dolphins
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      My Sister, the Creep (An Apple Paperback)
                      Hello Baby

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      ikyra_marie

                      Love her songs!i suggest you don...
                      Taylor Swift: Country's Sweethea...

                      spinnypeeps

                      Definitely my favorite book out ...
                      The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Ol...

                      coolnicki477

                      Its filled with amazing facts th...
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the ...

                      jessapark
                      jessapark wrote:

                      this book includes some part of ...
                      Hello Baby