How to Steal a Dog Buy Book
Click to Rate

How to Steal a Dog

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4T4.034585
Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don’t do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you’re in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.
 
Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is “borrow” the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.
 
With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O’Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what’s right when everything else seems wrong.
 
How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
50 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • gobi
    gobiWednesday, June 3, 2015 at 6:01 pm
    i love this book
    • merbear47
      merbear47Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at 5:53 pm22 stars
      I thought How to Steal a Dog was a decent book, although the whole idea of the text wasn't the best. Also the writing was ok, it wasn't very descriptive or realistic. I mean how would they get in the fence with NONE of the neighbors looking epecially how its the middle of the day. I suggest this book to all dog lovers though!
      • mustache12
        mustache12Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 10:38 am55 stars
        this is a great book ..................it is very funny and awesome
        • jazzy 1234Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 9:34 am
          I love this book it is the best.
          • K8Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 7:39 am
            It was totally hilarious and kind of sad I think it was a 4 star book
            • smothie
              smothieMonday, March 23, 2015 at 10:02 pm55 stars
              this book is really fun for kids who like dogs i really recommend getting this book st the library!!!have fun reading this book!!!
              • shaner2002
                shaner2002Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 7:28 am44 stars
                I really like it. This is a really good author.
                • soso4613
                  soso4613Sunday, February 8, 2015 at 9:18 pm44 stars
                  This book is a great lesson for kids to respect what there parents give them, and just to be greatfull. Over all this book is great a recomend it to ages 10-18
                  • trinityp
                    trinitypTuesday, November 18, 2014 at 7:21 am55 starsFeatured
                    this book has a mix about two feelings sad,happy,mad,even jealousy i love this book i recommend this book because it shows how a little girl and her little brother do something really bad because they think it will help them but at the end they find out it won't help them at all she finds out that she does the right thing that's when a miracle happened once she did the right thing her family moved into a house i think the moral of this story is always do the right thing and something good will happen even if nothing happens just be thankful for what you have.
                    • gladisa
                      gladisaTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 9:05 am
                      I think that this book is cool because it haze bogs and funny things. I like we a story is like this I just love it it makes my happy. Like some times you want to know that what is go to happened. I love wen the story is cool and nice but some story's or Sade or mean.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      chrystal13
                      chrystal13 wrote:

                      I really want to read this book!...
                      The Face on the Milk Carton

                      chrystal13
                      chrystal13 wrote:

                      Petra and Calder, two friends, g...
                      Chasing Vermeer

                      chrystal13
                      chrystal13 wrote:

                      I think that maybe I am a littl...
                      Thea Stilton and the Mountain of...

                      chrystal13
                      chrystal13 wrote:

                      This book is really interesting!...
                      The Good, the Bad, and the Barbi...