How to Steal a Dog
Click to Rate

How to Steal a Dog

By Barbara O'Connor
47 ratings41 reviews71 followers
Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don’t do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you’re in a bad fix and you got to do whate... (more)
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
41 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • audreyz1234
    audreyz12344/6/2014
    i like it
    • naenae2003
      naenae20032/13/2014
      It is great so far I'm working on reading it!!!!!!!!!!!
      • andrew1205
        andrew120510/23/2013
        Book review for how to steal a dog After Georgina, her mother, and her younger brother Toby find themselves without a place to stay because of her father throwing them onto the streets, they live in a van that they drive around town. Georgina decides to take matters into her own hands. She decides to steal a dog, then once the owner puts up a reward for the dog, give it back and take the money. This book is, "How to steal a dog," by Barbara O' Connor. This is a realistic fiction book that I chose because of the eye-catching title. My favorite passage in this book is her first list of instruction of how to steal a dog; How to Steal a Dog by Georgina Haynes Step 1: Find a Dog I like this passage because it begins her many steps of how to steal a dog. I connect to this book because I also have sympathy for dogs just as Georgina does. One exciting part of this book was when she found the perfect dog to steal. She pets the dog, and observes it in awe of how perfect it was. I recommend this book because of the clever storyline and epic plot twists. Read this book!
        • vflor
          vflor10/16/2013
          Georgina Hayes father left and only left them with a little bit of money and they got kicked out of there apartment.There other is trying to get a nice home for them and one time she does but the next day the door says KEEP OUT PRIVATE PROPERTY!!!!!!So Georgina steals a dog because she knows it will have a $500 dollar reward.Read to find out what Georgina will do this book is so awesome and sad.
          • sujin
            sujin4/22/2013
            looks cute!
            • 20abutler
              20abutler12/11/20125 stars
              I really loved this book! This book is about a girl named Georgina Hayes. Ever since her father left and they were kicked out of their apartment, they have lived in a car. The mother is trying to get enough money to find a place to live. Georgia sees a missing dog poster and a reward for 500 dollars, she gets an idea, she will "borrow" a dog. This book is amazing I really recommend it.
              • macandcheese
                macandcheese11/10/20124 stars
                I read this book last year in school and it was pretty good
                • smurfy
                  smurfy11/1/2012
                  Its about a poor family and just read it for your self its sad but a really good book
                  • kittenlover123
                    kittenlover12310/22/20125 stars
                    such a great book
                    • starjumper
                      starjumper10/19/20124 stars
                      This book is super, super, super sad! This book has a loving dog, a family that lives in a car, and...well... a bike riding, three fingered hobo

                      Reading Levels

                      Guided Reading
                      T
                      Interest Level
                      Grades 4 - 8
                      ATOS Level
                      4.0
                      Word Count
                      34585

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Divergent
                      Wonder
                      Game Over, Pete Watson
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
                      Swim That Rock
                      Wonder
                      Game Over, Pete Watson

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      MURDERGIRL2 wrote:

                      IM ALMOST THERE!!!!!! I SOOOOOOO...
                      Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

                      MURDERGIRL2 wrote:

                      AWSOME BOOK! IM JUST FINISHING T...
                      Insurgent (Divergent)

                      rozeb
                      rozeb wrote:

                      This book is great. I love it.
                      The One and Only Ivan

                      rozeb
                      rozeb wrote:

                      Recommend this to candy makers e...
                      The Candymakers