How to Steal a Dog Buy Book
Click to Rate

How to Steal a Dog

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4T4.034585
Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don’t do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you’re in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.
 
Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is “borrow” the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.
 
With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O’Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what’s right when everything else seems wrong.
 
How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
53 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • robotboy
    robotboySaturday, August 29, 2015 at 11:35 am
    this book is so good I need to get more of her books make sure Barbra O'Connor thank you Barbra y'all should read her book.
    • meredith4
      meredith4Friday, August 28, 2015 at 8:42 am
      it sounds sad
      • kladd
        Mrs. LaddThursday, August 27, 2015 at 4:19 pm55 stars
        It is a great read aloud and addresses the moral dilemma between doing what is right and what you need as a child. It is a great reading/response springboard for your students on a variety of topics.
        • gobi
          gobiWednesday, June 3, 2015 at 6:01 pm
          i love this book
          • merbear47
            merbear47Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at 5:53 pm22 stars
            I thought How to Steal a Dog was a decent book, although the whole idea of the text wasn't the best. Also the writing was ok, it wasn't very descriptive or realistic. I mean how would they get in the fence with NONE of the neighbors looking epecially how its the middle of the day. I suggest this book to all dog lovers though!
            • mustache12
              mustache12Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 10:38 am55 stars
              this is a great book ..................it is very funny and awesome
              • jazzy 1234Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 9:34 am
                I love this book it is the best.
                • K8Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 7:39 am
                  It was totally hilarious and kind of sad I think it was a 4 star book
                  • smothie
                    smothieMonday, March 23, 2015 at 10:02 pm55 stars
                    this book is really fun for kids who like dogs i really recommend getting this book st the library!!!have fun reading this book!!!
                    • shaner2002
                      shaner2002Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 7:28 am44 stars
                      I really like it. This is a really good author.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dingwko
                      dingwko wrote:

                      It was a very good book. It had ...
                      The Red Pyramid

                      dingwko
                      dingwko wrote:

                      It was a very good book. I think...
                      The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chr...

                      bigmuch
                      bigmuch wrote:

                      It was a very good book it tells...
                      The Red Pyramid

                      Emma wrote:

                      NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!! :D
                      Destruction of the Overworld: He...