Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
483 ratings545 reviews482 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
545 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cata
    cata8/31/20144 stars
    I love this book. U should read it. It is exiting, scary, and very funny. Even thought it is a bit long, it is a great book!
    • aandnb
      aandnb8/28/20145 stars
      cool book, this is a book I really enjoyed reading
      • memila123
        memila1238/28/20145 stars
        It is so cool
        • malpal23
          malpal238/28/20145 stars
          This book is about a young wizard named Harry Potter. When he was only 1 he defeated a evil wizard. This book i believe will appeal to all people. it does have words that you might need to be on a 3rd grade level to read but theres not a lot of those. So read this book to find out more.
          • gregknight
            gregknight8/26/20145 stars
            This book has always been my favourite. It is my childhood and I've read it more times than I remember. I highly, highly recommend this book.
            • mosea1234
              mosea12348/24/20143 stars
              A good book for all magic lovers. Action packed and story filled, in this book you will read about Harry's young years at the Dursley's and first year at Hogwarts. My favorite part is when Harry sticks his wand in a Mountain Troll's nose.
              • cerulian
                cerulian8/22/2014
                This is book is the story of a powerful Wizard named Harry and how he is called to action to Hogwart's-School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The story starts off with Harry living with his horrible aunt, uncle, and cousin. He goes to Hogwart's against their volition. He meets his mentor, Hagrid and his friends: Herminey Granger and Ronald Weasley. He finds out secrets like how his parents were murdered by he-who-should-not-be-named and that he is the only one who survived the attack. This book tells of Harry's journey into Wizardry. This is only the beginning.
                • artjunkie
                  artjunkie8/22/2014
                  YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK! Luna Lovegood is my fave! Ravenclaw 4 life!
                  • breezylezie123
                    breezylezie1238/22/20145 stars
                    Harry Potter is one of my favorite fantasy book series. All of the books are wonderful but this is where the adventure begins. I love the characters like Ron, Hagrid, Harry, Hermione and Dumbledore. The storyline is expertly written. J. K. Rowling did a good job with that. I reccomend this book to all magic and fantasy lovers. Hopefully, you will read the other books too.
                    • sshans2
                      sshans28/21/20145 stars
                      The ruthless Lord Voldemort kills Lily and James Potter on halloween night, in his attempt to kill their son, Harry. Curiously, in this effort of killing a one-year-old infant, his powers seem to disappear...and it seems that he does too-- after over a decade of murdering and torturing countless innocent witches, wizards, and muggles. Nearly ten years later, Harry Potter is living in the cupboard under the stairs of his only living relatives, the Dursleys, who are so normal, readers find them to be strange. On Harry's eleventh birthday, he receives a letter...a letter given in the most peculiar way...but still a letter. A letter inviting him to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Of course, he didn't believe it at first (I mean, would you?) but when Harry saw magic being performed, he had no choice but to believe that he will no longer be living in neglect...he will spend his year in Hogwarts: a school with ghosts, cloaks, and wands. With classes like Charms, Potions, and Transfiguration. As strange as the school is, Harry suspects something particularly peculiar going on this year. And I must say, you’ll be more than surprised to find out what...and who...it is.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Whatever After #1: Fairest of All
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish
                      Minecraft: Essential Handbook
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      klowee
                      klowee wrote:

                      Beach Day was a fun read for the...
                      Beach Day

                      klowee
                      klowee wrote:

                      We See is an ok book to read. T...
                      We See (Dick and Jane)

                      klowee
                      klowee wrote:

                      I love reading Fancy Nancy books...
                      Fancy Nancy: Poison Ivy Expert (...

                      klowee
                      klowee wrote:

                      I really enjoy Amelia Belia beca...
                      Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)