Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
476 ratings537 reviews476 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
537 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • breezylezie123
    breezylezie1238/22/20145 stars
    Harry Potter is one of my favorite fantasy book series. All of the books are wonderful but this is where the adventure begins. I love the characters like Ron, Hagrid, Harry, Hermione and Dumbledore. The storyline is expertly written. J. K. Rowling did a good job with that. I reccomend this book to all magic and fantasy lovers. Hopefully, you will read the other books too.
    • sshans2
      sshans28/21/20145 stars
      The ruthless Lord Voldemort kills Lily and James Potter on halloween night, in his attempt to kill their son, Harry. Curiously, in this effort of killing a one-year-old infant, his powers seem to disappear...and it seems that he does too-- after over a decade of murdering and torturing countless innocent witches, wizards, and muggles. Nearly ten years later, Harry Potter is living in the cupboard under the stairs of his only living relatives, the Dursleys, who are so normal, readers find them to be strange. On Harry's eleventh birthday, he receives a letter...a letter given in the most peculiar way...but still a letter. A letter inviting him to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Of course, he didn't believe it at first (I mean, would you?) but when Harry saw magic being performed, he had no choice but to believe that he will no longer be living in neglect...he will spend his year in Hogwarts: a school with ghosts, cloaks, and wands. With classes like Charms, Potions, and Transfiguration. As strange as the school is, Harry suspects something particularly peculiar going on this year. And I must say, you’ll be more than surprised to find out what...and who...it is.
      • xxpish
        xxpish8/14/20145 stars
        Hmm. What can I say about this book that hasn't already been said? Well, it's AWESOME. If you haven't read Harry Potter you are SERIOUSLY living under a rock :-P I LOVE everything HP. POTTER FOREVER!!!!!!!!!
        • ifeelbookish
          ifeelbookish8/13/20145 stars
          NOPE. I CANT PROPERLY REVIEW THIS WITHOUT FANGIRLING. I CANT BELIEVE THAT I'VE WAITED THIS LONG TO READ THE HARRY POTTER SERIES. First of all, I want to thank DOGO for sending me this book. So this past week, I've been scrolling through Tumblr GIFS of Harry Potter movies, and I just thought to myself: Why haven't I read Harry Potter when about 95% of the Earth's population has? I've had the book for over a year now, and I still haven't read it yet. I absolutely love the new covers of the series, and I immediately recognized Kazu Kibuishi's artwork because I had previously read his Amulet series. I also appreciated the spine artwork, in which if you line up all the books in the series, it displays Hogwarts. This was definitely a page-turner and the characters were witty and endearing. I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK OKAY? I JUST CANT REVIEW IT WITHOUT MESSING UP. P. S. : Thank you very much to DOGO, again, for sending me this book, and I'm soooo sorry it took so long to review it. -ifeelbookish
          • lulu1234
            lulu12348/13/20145 stars
            my mom and i are reading this whole series together. I wish there were pictures but i really like the storey. Im excited to read them all!
            • pigloveramazing
              pigloveramazing8/13/20145 stars
              This is an amazing book! It is in My top 7 favorite books! The other 6 is the rest of the Harry Potter series! J K Rowling has an amazing talent for writing!
              • pigloveramazing
                pigloveramazing8/13/20145 stars
                This is an amazing book! It is in my top 7 favorite! The other 6 are the rest of the Harry Potter series. J K Rowling has an amazing talent for writing
                • salexander
                  salexander8/12/20144 stars
                  The first of many great books. It's a creative story that is filled with interesting characters and strange creatures. I love its plot.
                  • selina
                    selina8/11/20145 stars
                    This story is about a baby boy who survives a death attack. 11 years later he got stuff from a place called Digon Alley so that the boy has everything he needs for school. That alley has everything he needs : a cauldron , a pet , a wand , school robes , and dress robes. Before Harry, the survived boy who had never before celebrated his B'day, left for school and got his stuff the school gamekeeper gave him a birthday cake and took him away from his aunt and uncle. His aunt and uncle were very mean and they practically didn't care about him.
                    • zorba
                      zorba8/11/20145 stars
                      AWESOME BOOK!!!! J. K. Rowling has a great talent writing. This is the first book in the Harry Potter series, all the books are wonderful! Harry Potter's parents were killed when he was a baby by a "car crash" (really Voldemort killed both of them) so Harry went to live with his fat, annoying, mean aunt, uncle, and cousin. Then Harry gets sent to Hogwarts, a magic school, and meets his two best friends Ron and Hermione and starts his adventure there!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      breezylezie123

                      This book is amazing. It teaches...
                      Uncle John's Bathroom Reader For...

                      jsmyth
                      jsmyth wrote:

                      I rate this book 4.5 because it ...
                      My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish

                      pjsweet
                      pjsweet wrote:

                      I like the illustration. I like...
                      Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made

                      breezylezie123

                      Harry Potter is one of my favori...
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...