Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
1170 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • iza_11
    iza_11Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 6:49 am
    A very good start to the Harry Potter series and I totally recommend it! One of my favorite Harry Potter books so far!
    • sciencenerd03
      sciencenerd03Monday, September 26, 2016 at 4:41 pm55 stars
      LOVED IT. GREAT START!!!!!
      • angie33
        angie33Friday, September 16, 2016 at 8:39 am55 stars
        I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • olliebob
          olliebobMonday, September 12, 2016 at 7:49 am55 stars
          Harry Potter is the most amazing series of all time!
          • girlwhocanread7
            girlwhocanread7Monday, September 12, 2016 at 3:24 am
            I really loved this book! I finished reading the whole book series in a MONTH!!! I read this book when I was 7 so the whole two headed thing gave me the creeps.
            • harry potterFriday, September 9, 2016 at 11:50 am
              i love this book
              • hopopopopo123
                hopopopopo123Monday, September 5, 2016 at 12:27 am
                This is the very first book I've ever read, I read it when I was 7 years old. I didn't like the Man with two faces part, you know I was still young so I had nightmares and was traumatized by the whole experience. But great book, good job J.K Rowling!!
                • MERKMUSICFANTuesday, August 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm
                  I love the books. im still on page 230 or so XD GRYFFNDOR FOR THE WIN
                  • 907smit4
                    907smit4Monday, August 29, 2016 at 3:06 pm
                    The start to an amazing and magical series
                    • yumikothelewis
                      yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:17 pm
                      Amazing book, Love It!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dboy17
                      dboy17 wrote:

                      Realy tells a good story about t...
                      Ghosts

                      dboy17
                      dboy17 wrote:

                      Not the best captin under pants
                      Captain Underpants and the Terri...

                      dboy17
                      dboy17 wrote:

                      Looks as good as the new one
                      Dog Man Unleashed (Dog Man #2): ...

                      pixnick wrote:

                      this is totes funny & everybody ...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down