Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) Buy Book
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
890 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mike1234
    mike1234Monday, August 31, 2015 at 1:06 pm55 stars
    Harry Potter is on his first adventure. Right now he lives with the Dursely's, soon that will change. After Harry gets his wand, his life changes forever
    • chocopie
      chocopieSaturday, August 29, 2015 at 2:16 pm
      Like every other Harry Potter book, J.K. Rowling has kept so much suspense and plot twists. I love Harry Potter, and like read this book almost every other day. It's just pure awesome
      • lukew4
        lukew4Friday, August 28, 2015 at 7:41 am55 stars
        I LOVE IT
        • lukew4
          lukew4Friday, August 28, 2015 at 7:08 am55 stars
          I loved it
          • akschober
            akschoberWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 10:37 am55 stars
            The first book to an amazing series is filled with every thing a book can need. Thriller, hope, courage, love, magic, and a boy that is special in every way. The first book the sorcerer's stone shows a boy named harry in his first year of wizarding school where he finds new friends and incredible adventures. I recommend this book to every one with love for magic. For this story is a magical adventure.
            • iserb1234
              iserb1234Monday, August 24, 2015 at 10:02 am55 stars
              This book is an awesome book for anyone who loves adventure and majic. Harry potter had always known he was different after all he was living with his abusive aunt and uncle who hated him for some reason. One day Harry gets an invitation to go to a wizard school called hogworts school of wizardry. His aunt and uncle do everything to keep him from knowing he was a wizard even moving to a a banded house in the middle of the ocean. When harry finds out he was a wizard he didn't believe it at first. But that does explain a lot about the strange things happening to him. When he gets to school they find out something strange and dangerous was going on, an ogar had gotten into the school and word is he who shall not be named servant is in the school will harry figure out who it is in time to save his professor and all of wizard kind read the book to find out
              • coolnicki477
                coolnicki477Tuesday, August 18, 2015 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                Thsi is my most favorite book of all time. I reread it every year since my friend recommended this book to me two years ago. Harry Potter was raised by his muggle aunt and uncle. They were very harsh on Harry but too kind to their own son, Dudley. Harry always thought his parent died in a car crash until Hagrid (the Hogwarts Gamekeeper) came and told Harry that he is a wizard. Harry finds out that his parents did not die in a car crash- they were murdered by Lord Voldemort. However, Voldemort only left a scar on Harry and was not able to kill him. Later, after Hagrid came Harry followed him to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry and made new friends. Together, they prevented Lord Volemort from living forever by stopping him from getting the Sorcerer's Stone. Harry saved the day and survived his first year at Hogwarts.
                • HarrypotteerloTuesday, August 18, 2015 at 10:17 am
                  I love all the Harry Potter books but I think this might be the most important
                  • ameman
                    amemanTuesday, August 18, 2015 at 6:44 am55 stars
                    Love all the books of harry potter
                    • tjoshua
                      tjoshuaMonday, August 17, 2015 at 2:07 pm
                      This is a really good book. Harry learns that he's a wizard. He gets a letter that says he got accepted to a school called Hogwarts. It's a school for witchcraft & wizardry.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      joleary1
                      joleary1 wrote:

                      It's 1895 in the city that never...
                      Ripper

                      llehlers
                      llehlers wrote:

                      I loved this book! I think autho...
                      Tabula Rasa

                      mardit
                      mardit wrote:

                      In a city without surprises can ...
                      Beautiful Creatures

                      lmonge
                      lmonge wrote:

                      I really want to read this
                      Minecraft: Lore of HEROBRINE: (T...