Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
522 ratings609 reviews512 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
609 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • eveningstar
    eveningstarWednesday, November 26, 2014 at 4:33 pm5 stars
    I love this adventure-twisted novel packed with humor, action, and tragedy. It was a original book and inspiring in a whole different way!
    • analise
      analiseWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 1:33 pm5 stars
      Rowling depicted this book perfectly. I have read every single book, dressed up as Heromine and Cho 2 years in a row, and visited orlando studios and rode every single ride. Just saying, BUTTERBEER IS AWESOME.
      • 00coolbeans00
        00coolbeans00Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 3:18 pm5 stars
        Harry Potter finds out that he is a wizard, and goes to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He finds friends and will face off with his enemy that killed his parents. Will he survive?
        • moonstoneshield
          moonstoneshieldTuesday, November 18, 2014 at 3:12 pm5 stars
          The book is awesome. This is my favorite series
          • skystorm
            skystormMonday, November 17, 2014 at 4:12 pm5 stars
            This book was so well written! I couldn't put it down, and it had a way of drawing me in so that I could feel what these characters felt, and I felt like I was experiencing what they were. This book rocks!!
            • edmodo-svvgrj46be
              edmodo-svvgrj46beMonday, November 17, 2014 at 9:46 am5 stars
              This book is filled with wonders, excitement, mysteries, sadness, adventures, and teamwork. I love this book because it is filled with things I love. In this book there is things that you would not see at home. there is mysteries to be solved.
              • kittylover101
                kittylover101Sunday, November 16, 2014 at 1:52 pm5 stars
                BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • Love To read Friday, November 14, 2014 at 4:00 pm
                  I have never read the harry potter book series yet but i hope to they sound pretty cool
                  • kdances
                    kdancesSaturday, November 15, 2014 at 1:48 pm
                    i'm on the fifth book and if you love to read then i highly recommend this book for you.
                  • DORK GIRL 101Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 9:13 am
                    I'm a POTTERHEAD
                    • nerdatron2000
                      nerdatron2000Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 3:50 pm
                      This is one of my favorite books!!!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Wonder
                      Smile
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      shiwanichand

                      this is as scary book it said th...
                      The Doll Graveyard: (a Hauntings...

                      eveningstar

                      I hope to read this! It looks so...
                      The Unofficial Harry Potter Spel...

                      eveningstar

                      I hope to read this! It looks so...
                      The Unofficial Harry Potter Cook...

                      eveningstar

                      This book is so exited! I love l...
                      Harry Potter and the Order of th...