Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
465 ratings521 reviews474 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
521 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • chewie
    chewie7/22/2014
    In Harry Potter the Dursley's a nasty family find a baby on there doorstep. 10 years later Harry Potter for that was who the baby was, was sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs.It all begins here. I like this book because of its mystery.
    • bookworm890
      bookworm8907/19/20145 stars
      I received this book last year through a giveaway. This is one of the best stories that I've read in a very long time. And I know that those of you who have already read the books are probably nodding your heads and saying "well, duh, it's Harry Potter!" Honestly though, the stories are so well thought out, the characters are so original, that I can find nothing to complain about. Rowling is a master of her craft and as long as I've known this her books have tempted me. In a strange way, I've tried to avoid reading her books for years. Not because they are bad, but because I like saving the best for last and I would like to thank DOGObooks for finally giving me a chance to succumb to her stories.
      • gymnastluv2253
        gymnastluv22537/19/20145 stars
        This book is amazing! J.K. Rowling is an awesome author! This book is filled with so much imagination and transports you to the world of magic.
        • beeslees
          beeslees7/18/20145 stars
          Let me start off by saying, although I do love the movie it comes NO WHERE CLOSE to being as good as the book. The movie leaves out so many important and interesting characters and events. After reading this book in high school I fell in love. Rowling creates an amazing new world filled with excitement, magic, and adventure. The characters in the book are creative and memorable. Harry teaches us how to be kind and brave even through the tough stuff. Ron is always there to give us a laugh and to teach us how to have a good time, while Hermione (personally my favorite) teaches us the importance of determination, dedication, and hard-work. There is one thing that these characters really teach us though, and that is how important friendship is. This is a story I could read over and over again. Each time I open us this book I am immediately taken into the magical world of Hogwarts and taken on the most wonderful adventures. Whether it is casting a spell, brewing a potion, flying on my broomstick, or simply exploring the halls and grounds of the castle, I am always swept away.
          • kimsam123
            kimsam1237/17/20144 stars
            Who doesn't love Harry Potter? He is a wizard raised by his aunt and uncle. Harry goes to a school for wizards, where he meets his two "BFFs" I guess you can call it. Allakazam!
            • yaya10
              yaya107/17/20145 stars
              it one of the best books in the world i love it i read the whole story JK Rowling is the best
              • tim0706
                tim07067/16/20145 stars
                Harry Potter is an 11 years old boy who is very unusual. This is because he was baby sitter by his uncle and aunt (for which he was the only one to survive the death spell). He then started to attend a school called Hogwarts. He learned his parents were magical and got friends (Hermione and Ron). This book was very fun. Even though it is long, it is very interesting and funny.
                • sweetheart352
                  sweetheart3527/14/20145 stars
                  This book is truly magical! The first book in the harry potter series, it documents harry's first year as a student at hogwarts; a school for young wizards.
                  • carlynicole
                    carlynicole7/14/20145 stars
                    I enjoyed this movie immensely. But in Harry Potter Sorcerer's Stone it is easier to see what is going on in the Harrys head. This actually makes his actions and motivation make more sense. Instead of just running through the dark and then for some reason veering toward the deserted and creepy building we can sometimes hear his thoughts and Harrys explanations and justify his logic. (Read the book instead of just watching the movie its worth your time.)
                    • srebag
                      srebag7/13/20145 stars
                      Harry Potter is awesome. I like the books better than the movies because the books have so much more detail! I read the series like twice a year. If you haven't read this yet only saw the movie, you should totally read it.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Charlotte's Web
                      My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish
                      Out of My Mind
                      The Giver (Cascades)
                      Out of My Mind
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Cabin Fever (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      seary
                      seary wrote:

                      This is such a sad story.
                      Dead End (Red Rock Mysteries)

                      seary
                      seary wrote:

                      This a really cool book! B.J so...
                      Pursued (Jennie McGrady Mystery ...

                      seary
                      seary wrote:

                      I have read this book!! I it's ...
                      Betrayed (Jennie McGrady Mystery...

                      seary
                      seary wrote:

                      This is sooo amazing
                      Desperate Measures (Jennie McGra...