Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
371 ratings383 reviews420 followers
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
(less)
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
383 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • resw
    resw4/11/20145 stars
    it is such a good book you have to read it. it is a book full of mystery,magic,and friendship. it is awesome i loved it you have to read it :-)
    • brem
      brem4/11/2014
      this is a madgical book i loved it it was so amazing j.k rowling is a fanomanalwrighter i highly suggest this book.
      • bea123
        bea1234/9/2014
        I also have read this book in a day with the rest of the books
        • calhoun
          calhoun4/8/20145 stars
          I think that it is going to be great.
          • Rachel4/5/2014
            I love this whole Harry Potter series, it's awesome!
            • 8765309kid
              8765309kid4/2/20145 stars
              This is the best book series ever! I read the whole series and loved it, all, Book 1 to Book 7, and when I told everyone in my class how awesome it was, over half of my class dived into it automatically, with no complains. It has been a while after I finished the series, but I'm happy that two of my best friends are already catching up, and are reading the 4th book. Great series! Love it!
              • Harrypotterfan3/26/2014
                I'm a Potterhead.
                • superstriker6
                  superstriker63/25/2014
                  It's an awesome series made me love reading
                  • princesess
                    princesess3/24/2014
                    i want 2 read it i heard it's realy realy good
                    • taliar
                      taliar3/24/20145 stars
                      This book was AWESOME! It might have some very long and complicated words but it is really great! I AM THE BIGGEST HARRY POTTER FAN EVER AND I COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!!!!!!

                      Reading Levels

                      Guided Reading
                      V
                      Interest Level
                      Grades 4 - 8
                      Reading Level
                      Grade 5
                      ATOS Level
                      5.5
                      Word Count
                      77508

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      The Thickety: A Path Begins
                      Divergent
                      The Hobbit
                      Sisters
                      Divergent

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      annabanana1106

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Seekers: Return to the Wild #3: ...

                      polligrl
                      polligrl wrote:

                      Does anyone wanna talk about cats
                      National Geographic Kids Mission...

                      gabyched1
                      gabyched1 wrote:

                      I loved this book it was well wo...
                      Jessie Crush Crazy (Jessie Junio...

                      ikyra_marie

                      I want to read this!!!!!!
                      Blood on the Moon