Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
374 ratings385 reviews421 followers
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
(less)
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780590353427
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
385 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cocojones
    cocojones4/24/20145 stars
    i love all of the books in the series they are awesome
    • aggiesoph
      aggiesoph4/22/20145 stars
      This is the first book in the BEST SERIES EVER!!!!! (In my opinion), and you have to read it if you know what's good for you. It is about a boy named Harry Potter, a wizard,and his parents are killed by an evil sorcerer named...... Well, I can't say it. I'll just say You-Know-Who. So anyways, his parents die when he is only a baby, and he is sent off to live with his only living relatives.... Muggles. His Aunt and Uncle treat him horribly, and his cousin Dudley bullies him a lot. When a letter arrives, all hope isn't lost for harry, and he boards the Hogwarts express and makes a friend named Ron Weasley. At Hogwarts, they are put in Gryffindor with a bossy, bushy haired girl, who they eventually make friends with after they take out a troll on Halloween. They also go to many classes during the year and experience many adventures! Read the book to find out! I guarantee you'll love it! 😜😜
      • resw
        resw4/11/20145 stars
        it is such a good book you have to read it. it is a book full of mystery,magic,and friendship. it is awesome i loved it you have to read it :-)
        • brem
          brem4/11/2014
          this is a madgical book i loved it it was so amazing j.k rowling is a fanomanalwrighter i highly suggest this book.
          • bea123
            bea1234/9/2014
            I also have read this book in a day with the rest of the books
            • calhoun
              calhoun4/8/20145 stars
              I think that it is going to be great.
              • Rachel4/5/2014
                I love this whole Harry Potter series, it's awesome!
                • 8765309kid
                  8765309kid4/2/20145 stars
                  This is the best book series ever! I read the whole series and loved it, all, Book 1 to Book 7, and when I told everyone in my class how awesome it was, over half of my class dived into it automatically, with no complains. It has been a while after I finished the series, but I'm happy that two of my best friends are already catching up, and are reading the 4th book. Great series! Love it!
                  • Harrypotterfan3/26/2014
                    I'm a Potterhead.
                    • superstriker6
                      superstriker63/25/2014
                      It's an awesome series made me love reading

                      Reading Levels

                      Guided Reading
                      V
                      Interest Level
                      Grades 4 - 8
                      Reading Level
                      Grade 5
                      ATOS Level
                      5.5
                      Word Count
                      77508

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
                      1D One Direction: Forever Young
                      The Thickety: A Path Begins
                      The Lightning Thief
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
                      Across A War-Tossed Sea
                      1D One Direction: Forever Young
                      The Ugly Truth (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      amygenius
                      amygenius wrote:

                      This is a fiction book about a w...
                      City of Bones (Mortal Instruments)

                      amygenius
                      amygenius wrote:

                      This is a book about a group of ...
                      The Clique (Clique (Prebound))

                      amygenius
                      amygenius wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      Flipped