Every Soul A Star

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369
And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002577
ISBN-13: 9780316002578
44 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • hamsterlover5
    hamsterlover5Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 10:13 am55 stars
    I love her books
    • memoiloveit
      memoiloveitFriday, June 3, 2016 at 1:36 pm55 stars
      At first, I only wanted to read this because I like the author, but when I started reading more, I really liked it and wanted to keep going. Although this is recommended for grades 4-8 and is only a Reading A-Z level U, I think that anybody will like to read it even if they don't want to at first. Three protagonists, are strangers to each other, named Ally, Bree, and Jack, have completely separate and different lives and perspectives, until they meet and eventually become friends. These three people start out one way, but by meeting each other and establishing strong relationships, their personalities change and they discover who they are. I like how the author made different perspectives for different sections of the story and it isn't just told by one of the protagonists.
      • bhovey
        bhoveyWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 8:17 am55 stars
        I think that wendy mass writes amazing books because every soul a star is the best book I ever read in my entire life and I will want to by my very own book. And I am also wanting to do a book trailer on this book so bad but it is to complicated to chooes what book to do.
        • bhovey
          bhoveyWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 8:13 am55 stars
          I think that wendy mass writes amazing books because everyt soul a star is the best book I ever read in my entire life and I will want to by my very own book.
          • sushi321
            sushi321Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 7:31 am
            love it
            • cimmie
              cimmieWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 8:26 pm
              ok the title won my heart i wanna read it
              • lightgirl300
                lightgirl300Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 6:03 am55 stars
                I love this .wendy mass is the best author ever!I love her books and especially this one.this is an awesome book.
                • enderwiggin
                  enderwigginSunday, October 25, 2015 at 6:59 pm
                  I love how the three personalities entertwined to make this heart-felt story. It was great!
                  • minty101
                    minty101Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 5:23 pm
                    One of the best Wendy Mass books ever!!!
                    • gcollins1
                      gcollins1Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 11:07 am55 stars
                      This book is a great book! I recommend it for people who like a little drama. The book contains three different type of people almost anyone can relate to!