Every Soul A Star Buy Book
Click to Rate

Every Soul A Star

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369
And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002577
ISBN-13: 9780316002578
36 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • minty101
    minty101Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 5:23 pm
    One of the best Wendy Mass books ever!!!
    • gcollins1
      gcollins1Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 11:07 am55 stars
      This book is a great book! I recommend it for people who like a little drama. The book contains three different type of people almost anyone can relate to!
      • milkyway
        milkywayTuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:43 pm
        every soul a star is like about a eclipse and 3 very different kids just like us.(except MAYBE a bit older) and they come to watch the eclipse ally, jack, and bree. they say bree is gorgeous but she's hiding something. jack is oversized and awkward so he doesn't have any friend's until now. and ally... well she just likes to watches eclipses.
        • hev
          hevTuesday, May 27, 2014 at 2:07 pm
          I am only on the first couple of pages but it is a really GREAT book!!!!
          • devorino_swimha
            devorino_swimhaWednesday, April 23, 2014 at 12:57 pm55 stars
            I like how all the people are connected!
            • 00someone00
              00someone00Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm55 stars
              Me too!
            • madisonTuesday, January 28, 2014 at 10:53 am
              i lo ve this book it is one of the best
              • pipermc11
                pipermc11Saturday, January 25, 2014 at 11:59 am55 starsFeatured
                Ally loves stars, and owns the place where the next eclipse is going to happen. And after her parents just told her that Bree and her family were going to take over the place after the eclipse, she's crushed. Great, just great. Bree sooo doesn't want to be there. I mean, seriously, this is her social life down the drain, because she has to stay after the eclipse to do what? Own the place, and be cut off from civilization. For three years! Great, just great. As for Jack, well, he failed science class, and this was his ticket out of summer school. He doesn't have high hopes, but maybe this will be different. Just maybe.
                • nancydrew963
                  nancydrew963Sunday, January 12, 2014 at 8:53 pm55 stars
                  wendy mass is my favorite author and she writes books that really reach down into your soul and make you feel real emotion. every soul a star is about how three unlikely people meet each other and form a unique friendship. i treasured every word of this book and, even though i read this book a while ago, i remember it vividly because of wendy mass's detailed narrating and intricately woven plot. recommended for people that like books with a well thought out plot and can make you cry
                  • 00someone00
                    00someone00Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 1:19 pm55 stars
                    I also think that about Wendy Mass and her books.
                  • soccerchick
                    soccerchickWednesday, November 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm55 stars
                    i love this book and Wendy Mass!
                    • payton12888
                      payton12888Friday, November 8, 2013 at 1:02 pm55 stars
                      This book is really good and i would really recommend it. It is good for boys and girls . This is totally my fav book EVA!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      trumang
                      trumang wrote:

                      In this book Stink's parents go ...
                      Stink and the Shark Sleepover (B...

                      trumang
                      trumang wrote:

                      Stink has a problem! He got a pe...
                      Stink and the Ultimate Thumb-Wre...

                      yotsuba
                      yotsuba wrote:

                      It's a great book, and I like it...
                      From the Notebooks of a Middle S...

                      diamondgirl123 wrote:

                      I sooo want to read this book
                      Dork Diaries 9: Tales from a Not...