Every Soul A Star Buy Book
Click to Rate

Every Soul A Star

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369
And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002577
ISBN-13: 9780316002578
39 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cimmie
    cimmieWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 8:26 pm
    ok the title won my heart i wanna read it
    • lightgirl300
      lightgirl300Wednesday, November 11, 2015 at 6:03 am55 stars
      I love this .wendy mass is the best author ever!I love her books and especially this one.this is an awesome book.
      • milkman14
        milkman14Sunday, October 25, 2015 at 6:59 pm
        I love how the three personalities entertwined to make this heart-felt story. It was great!
        • minty101
          minty101Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 5:23 pm
          One of the best Wendy Mass books ever!!!
          • gcollins1
            gcollins1Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 11:07 am55 stars
            This book is a great book! I recommend it for people who like a little drama. The book contains three different type of people almost anyone can relate to!
            • milkyway
              milkywayTuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:43 pm
              every soul a star is like about a eclipse and 3 very different kids just like us.(except MAYBE a bit older) and they come to watch the eclipse ally, jack, and bree. they say bree is gorgeous but she's hiding something. jack is oversized and awkward so he doesn't have any friend's until now. and ally... well she just likes to watches eclipses.
              • hev
                hevTuesday, May 27, 2014 at 2:07 pm
                I am only on the first couple of pages but it is a really GREAT book!!!!
                • devorino_swimha
                  devorino_swimhaWednesday, April 23, 2014 at 12:57 pm55 stars
                  I like how all the people are connected!
                  • 00someone00
                    00someone00Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm55 stars
                    Me too!
                  • madisonTuesday, January 28, 2014 at 10:53 am
                    i lo ve this book it is one of the best
                    • pipermc11
                      pipermc11Saturday, January 25, 2014 at 11:59 am55 starsFeatured
                      Ally loves stars, and owns the place where the next eclipse is going to happen. And after her parents just told her that Bree and her family were going to take over the place after the eclipse, she's crushed. Great, just great. Bree sooo doesn't want to be there. I mean, seriously, this is her social life down the drain, because she has to stay after the eclipse to do what? Own the place, and be cut off from civilization. For three years! Great, just great. As for Jack, well, he failed science class, and this was his ticket out of summer school. He doesn't have high hopes, but maybe this will be different. Just maybe.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      seawen20 wrote:

                      I really like the maze runner. M...
                      The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...


                      is this book better than the fir...
                      Justice (Lawless)


                      this book sounds so cool i can't...
                      Floors Book 1


                      i sooooooooo want to read this
                      The Girl Who Could Not Dream