Every Soul A Star
Click to Rate

Every Soul A Star

By Wendy Mass
38 ratings33 reviews36 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369
And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002577
ISBN-13: 9780316002578
33 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • hev
    hev5/27/2014
    I am only on the first couple of pages but it is a really GREAT book!!!!
    • devorino_swimha
      devorino_swimha4/23/20145 stars
      I like how all the people are connected!
    • madison1/28/2014
      i lo ve this book it is one of the best
      • pipermc11
        pipermc111/25/20145 stars
        Ally loves stars, and owns the place where the next eclipse is going to happen. And after her parents just told her that Bree and her family were going to take over the place after the eclipse, she's crushed. Great, just great. Bree sooo doesn't want to be there. I mean, seriously, this is her social life down the drain, because she has to stay after the eclipse to do what? Own the place, and be cut off from civilization. For three years! Great, just great. As for Jack, well, he failed science class, and this was his ticket out of summer school. He doesn't have high hopes, but maybe this will be different. Just maybe.
        • nancydrew963
          nancydrew9631/12/20145 stars
          wendy mass is my favorite author and she writes books that really reach down into your soul and make you feel real emotion. every soul a star is about how three unlikely people meet each other and form a unique friendship. i treasured every word of this book and, even though i read this book a while ago, i remember it vividly because of wendy mass's detailed narrating and intricately woven plot. recommended for people that like books with a well thought out plot and can make you cry
          • 00someone00
            00someone004/23/20145 stars
            I also think that about Wendy Mass and her books.
          • soccerchick
            soccerchick11/13/20135 stars
            i love this book and Wendy Mass!
            • payton12888
              payton1288811/8/20135 stars
              This book is really good and i would really recommend it. It is good for boys and girls . This is totally my fav book EVA!
              • gasinskiz
                gasinskiz10/29/20134 stars
                I really like it
                • ilovedogs12
                  ilovedogs1210/1/20135 stars
                  it is so amazing to see the view of different people
                  • narka
                    narka9/30/2013
                    This book is really great because it shows how people from completely different worlds can come together and become good friends. The author did a good job of showing emotion and spreading a message through the book.

                    Most Popular Books This Week

                    Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                    Whatever After #1: Fairest of All
                    Divergent (Book 1) (Divergent Series)
                    Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                    The Fourteenth Goldfish
                    Minecraft: Essential Handbook
                    Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                    Sisters

                    Latest Kids Books Reviews

                    christopher wrote:

                    the best book ever in the percy ...
                    Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

                    marlee wrote:

                    this book was pretty cool and i ...
                    Tales from Lovecraft Middle Scho...

                    aussie
                    aussie wrote:

                    I liked how it had a lot or humo...
                    Timmy Failure: Now Look What You...

                    lyla wrote:

                    greattt book!
                    Guinness World Records 2013