Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Click to Rate

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

By Judy Blume
28 ratings36 reviews28 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4T3.630340

Faced with the difficulties of growing up and choosing a religion, a twelve-year-old girl talks over her problems with her own private God.

Hardcover
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027109909
ISBN-13: 9780027109900
36 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bkdancer9
    bkdancer96/18/20145 stars
    I loved this book it taught me so much. It taught me that you do not need a religion to talk to God or even believe in God because He loves you so much and there are no boundaries between love!
    • peaches4life
      peaches4life11/17/20135 stars
      It is so good but not if you are eight years old!
      • rozeb
        rozeb10/13/20133 stars
        This was a good book about growing up, you know. I read it for book club and it was semi-good. But I still kind of liked it.
        • prisi103
          prisi1039/5/2013
          i loved this book it was amazing and very toching
          • edmodo-f7utzp5xxc
            edmodo-f7utzp5xxc8/19/20135 stars
            In the book ''Are you thare God?It's me, Margret.'', it's about a girl named Margret trying to figure out if she should be jewish or a christian. I loved it that Margret and her friends stuck together and were always there for each other.I rated the book five stars becuase I love everything about it and I have no negative reviews about it. In this book review I will be telling you a few of the things I loved about it. Ther were many things that I just loved about the book, but one of themis on page 4. It says''Hey mom. There's a girl here who wants top know if I can go under her sprinklers.'' It may seem odd that I likeed this quote it's becuase when Margret just moved in she made a fast friend. I sure wish that it was like that when I moved in my new house. A next quote that I liked was on page 95 it says, ''She sent me two postcards a week, called every Friday night and promised to be home before Easter.'' I just love that sentance becuase it reallly shows that Margret's grandmother really cares about her. And trust me I have never in my life heard a grangmother call her grandaugter so much.That's what really makes me think that she has a strong relationship with her grandma. I love the book becuase of the love and care it shows and yet enough drama with Margret choosing her religon and it makes the book interesting. In conclusion I love this book and I recomend this book to somebody who wants the right enough of drama and yet just amazing characters. Isn't that the perfect dream book to read? I sure think so!
            • sparkling5
              sparkling58/18/20135 stars
              Judy Blume has the bst books ever!! this was another fvorite of mine and this is definitely for girls. I love how this has to do with religion and a girls life. the message in this book is so touching i REALLY recommend this! READ THIS!
              • bookish5
                bookish58/4/20135 stars
                I loved this book so much! It was a short read yet the story seemed to really leave a long-lasting impact. Although this is a book that my Mom could have read when she was a kid, I myself enjoyed reading it and I definitely recommend any of Judy Blume's books :)
                • barbie3014
                  barbie30147/21/2013
                  Margaret is a normal girl. No superpowers, or anything of the like. She is a normal girl facing the challenges of puberty and moving to a new town.She meets many friends during the school year, some that always tell the truth and some causing drama in their relationships. Even though her family is half christian-half jewish, she still prays to god everyday to help her through her life. Blume has written a great book that young girls going through puberty can relate to. It has a message to stay true to yourself and I totally recommend it to a friend. Margaret is a normal girl. No superpowers, or anything of the like. She is a normal girl facing the challenges of puberty and moving to a new town.She meets many friends during the school year, some that always tell the truth and some causing drama in their relationships. Even though her family is half christian-half jewish, she still prays to god everyday to help her through her life. Blume has written a great book that young girls going through puberty can relate to. It has a message to stay true to yourself and I totally recommend it to a friend. Margaret Smith is one of the main characters in Regular Show. Margaret is a female Robin[1] who works as a waitress in the Coffee Shop, with her best friend Eileen, across the street from The Park.Mordecai has a huge crush on her, and is also his girlfriend (as of "Meteor Moves"), and frequently finds excuses to go to the coffee shop to see her. Margaret seems to have a crush on Mordecai too, and is proven in "Meteor Moves", and other episodes. It was mentioned in "Family BBQ" that her last name is Smith. Margaret made her debut in "Caffeinated Concert Tickets". Margaret is voiced by Janie Haddad
                  • ilovereading101
                    ilovereading1017/20/20134 stars
                    I love this book so much! Judy Blume is a really good author.It's about how Margret is facing what life's giving her and she's being very courageous about it.
                    • hey
                      hey7/20/20135 stars
                      this is a wonderful book! This talks about a lot of the "first time" things. this will help any girls that need that little push or extra something. Lovely book and totally recommend it! :)

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Wonder
                      Magic in the Mix
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Sisters

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      combosoldier

                      It came out already!!!!!!!!!!! i...
                      The Heroes of Olympus Book Five:...

                      margotcreekside

                      This is a funny and adverterous ...
                      Bad Magic

                      Frankiebabby wrote:

                      great book!
                      Bad Magic

                      coolnicki477

                      The Big Read book of Bdginner Bo...
                      The Big Red Book of Beginner Boo...