The Diary of a Young Girl. Anne Frank Buy Book
Click to Rate

The Diary of a Young Girl. Anne Frank

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8n/an/a6.582762
In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. "The Diary of a Young Girl" by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Audio CD
Published on May 25, 2010 by Listening Library (Audio)
ISBN-10: 0307737853
ISBN-13: 9780307737854
36 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kathead
    katheadTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 6:39 pm
    I had to read this book for a school project and I was thinking "Oh, great another one of those wannabe real history books," which I do not like. So I read the book. I'm a fast reader and I can remember things very well, but when I read this book it was so hard to grasp the very thought of what was going on. It's one thing to read a book where some characters are real and some are not, but in this book everyone was real. They had thoughts, feelings, and did things with there lives before the Nazis came. I had to read it three times before I really could get a feeling for it. Her story is so emotional, I don't know how she dealt with everything around her. From problems with her mom, a crush on a boy, and then sharing a room with a grown man! It must have been hard. I recommend this book to people who like to read.
    • olliebob
      olliebobTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 4:40 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is so meaningful. It's down to earth, but at the same time, I can't imagine anything that Anne went through happening to me. Anne is a real girl during the Holocaust. She lived a regular life, and then WWII started up. Her family and several others were forced into hiding to avoid concentration camps, commonly known as Nazi death camps. Hitler was insane and prejudiced against Jews. He felt that their religion was an excuse to treat them horribly. Anne's and several other families hid in a storehouse, which was owned by a friend of their's who was not a Jew. As Anne pours her heart out to her diary, which she calls Kitty, we can feel the weight of thousands of people on our shoulders. We weep for those who were lost in WWII and those who lost loved ones. Anne go's through her teenage years hidden away, years she should have been able to spend with friends. Hitler started a war, and then, after generations of lives were lost, he killed himself. This book would be a hard subject for kids under 4th grade to read. Thank you.
      • smiley4
        smiley4Tuesday, September 15, 2015 at 4:17 pm44 stars
        I love reading about World War 2, and I enjoyed this book because it didn't have all of the fighting of the war. it did have what was going on during the war, but it also had the story of a young girl, Anne Frank, who was a Jew. Jews at that time were being sent to concentration camps where Jews were being worked hard by Germans and most were killed. Anne Frank and her family were staying in hiding throughout the war. This is Anne's diary of her time spent in hiding.
        • daenerys
          daenerysFriday, September 11, 2015 at 5:13 am55 stars
          Such a heartaching book..made me cry..literally
          • cool_girlk
            cool_girlkFriday, August 28, 2015 at 8:16 pm
            I am a=interested in the Holocaust watch documentaries about it ,Hitler, and the Jewish camps. I started to read the translated diary in 5th grade but eas carried away by bores of my young mind.
            • pupayy
              pupayyWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:46 pm
              Achingly honest and scary. Anne Frank must endure Nazis and spend every day in fear. I'm sure you'll bite your nails sometime in the story but you'll see the Holocaust is truth and that the fear is no story. If you want to learn about the WW II time period read this diary.
              • aemueller2
                Ms. MuellerThursday, March 26, 2015 at 12:30 pm44 stars
                This is a great book! It is nonfiction and based on a Jewish girl who went into hiding during WWII.
                • cutiekittenlove
                  cutiekittenloveThursday, February 5, 2015 at 5:06 pm
                  The book makes a great point. Love it
                  • sabrina101
                    sabrina101Thursday, February 5, 2015 at 4:15 pm55 stars
                    i really liked this book it taked about a young girl nammed anne frank it is a true story and it was intresting
                    • foodluver
                      foodluverWednesday, November 26, 2014 at 11:15 am55 stars
                      It was a really good book. I like reading about World War II. This is the best book that I have read that is about World War II.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      makar wrote:

                      I read this book and the whole s...
                      The Fiend and the Forge: Book Th...

                      talentgirl wrote:

                      Totally real and then it was ver...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul