The Diary of a Young Girl
Click to Rate

The Diary of a Young Girl

By Anne Frank
15 ratings25 reviews28 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8n/an/a6.582762
In Everyman’s Library for the first time—one of the most moving and eloquent accounts of the Holocaust, read by tens of millions of people around the world since its publication in 1947.

The Diary of a Young Girl
is the record of two years in the life of a remarkable Jewish girl whose triumphant humanity in the face of unfathomable deprivation and fear has made the book one of the most enduring documents of our time.

The Everyman’s hardcover edition reprints the Definitive Edition authorized by the Frank estate, plus a new introduction, a bibliography, and a chronology of Anne Frank’s life and times.
Audio CD
Published on May 25, 2010 by Listening Library (Audio)
ISBN-10: 0307737853
ISBN-13: 9780307737854
25 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bibliophile
    bibliophileThursday, August 21, 2014 at 12:28 pm
    I read this book and it was so... I don't know... so meaningful to life...The time period is about during the Holocaust or World War 2, anyways it talks about Adolf Hitler starting to get popular and is annoyed about how the Jewish are, look like, etc... Adolf tells all the Jewish people to wear the Star of David, to show that the Jewish people are lower than they are. Now there's Anne getting older each year knowing the way about how she has to live since she is Jewish. During that time the Nazis were sending older Jewish girls to work, so they had to hide Margot, Anne's older sister, won't be away where the Nazis were sending them. So they hid in a place which is called "The Secret Annex," the place where Anne's family hid with a couple of other families. Anne describes all this in this meaningful diary. To tell you the truth this book is so touching and sad, I really enjoyed this book, and I hope you guys can read it, so now you know Anne's sorrowful adventure during the Holocaust. Rest in peace for those who passed away during the Holocaust.
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileFriday, August 22, 2014 at 1:28 pm
      Sorry... I meant Secret Annexe
    • AnnFrankSaturday, May 24, 2014 at 3:51 pm
      Ann Frank had to go through something no one should have to go throogh
      • Snoopy711Friday, May 23, 2014 at 6:55 pm
        i am really intrested in the Holocaust, and Ann Frank and she is really cool. I wish i could have met her
        • musicprincess
          musicprincessWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 10:58 am
          While I got this book many years ago, I find that it is a wonderful true story showing how life was during World War II. It shows the hardships of Anne and her family trying to survive the attacks of the Nazis. I believe that any person who loves a good, heartfelt, and awe-inspiring story should read this book.
          • mawherorapeti
            mawherorapetiWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 12:55 am5 stars
            This book is an AMAZING book about Anne Frank and her Mother, Father and Anne's sister Margo. It was the year of 1942 (during WW2) when Anne was only 14 she had to go to Holland to hide from the Nazis. Her diary thoroughly describes her 2 years in hiding in which she called the Secret Annex. Anne and her family hid with 4 other jews in a sealed off backroom of an office. The Franks were discovered when one of the people that were helping them sold them out. The Franks were split up and sent to concentration camps where they were labored hard . In 1946 Anne and her sister died in Bergen Belsen camp of Typhus Fever which is a disease that you can catch from being unhygienic, which in the concentration camps was a big problem because the victims of the camps were treated very badly. The only survivor of the Frank family was Otto Frank, Anne's Father who was the one who edited and translated Anne's Diary which you are probably reading right now if you are not, DO!!!
            • Book experteeTuesday, April 22, 2014 at 6:07 pm
              best book ever known to mankind. Rest in peace Anne and Margot Frank.
              • cookiemonster3
                cookiemonster3Thursday, January 16, 2014 at 6:41 am
                I can't put the book down! I got it for Christmas and love it so much!
                • sunsetbeach
                  sunsetbeachTuesday, January 7, 2014 at 3:09 pm3 stars
                  I'm reading the English official one but still... It's so touching and sad... Imagine you as Anne frank, not aloud to use lamps, windows (during day), or to go outside. So so so sad... Read it and you'll understand me...
                  • yuvaltomlinson
                    yuvaltomlinsonWednesday, October 23, 2013 at 10:20 am5 stars
                    This book is very interesting and I reccomend it. If you want to learn about the holocaust, read this book. In the end of the book (I don't tell it), I cried and then, I watched the movie. When I was in the Netherlands, I go to the Anne Frank house in Amsterdam and I can't stop remember Anne. You should read this book.
                    • LolTuesday, February 5, 2013 at 10:06 am
                      This book is very interesting I recommend it cause its makes u read it all day

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Magic in the Mix

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      retrotaco
                      retrotaco wrote:

                      this is a great book. all of joh...
                      Looking for Alaska

                      retrotaco
                      retrotaco wrote:

                      this is the best book ever! john...
                      Fault in Our Stars

                      ratboy
                      ratboy wrote:

                      i forgot to put five stars!!!!!
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...